I wrote 3 books in 4 weeks…and lived! by Heather Novak

You may remember I posted about writing 20 pages a day, thanks to Candace Havens’ Fast Draft workshop. I tried it on my own to finish Threat of Raine, book 2 in the Lynch Brothers Series. Within three days, my draft was done!

Having found success, I signed up for the official Fast Draft workshop on September 27.

Oh.
My.
God.

There were days I honestly was so tired after making goal, I stood up and couldn’t move past my office door. Prince Charming had to physically put me into bed.

There were days I literally cried at the thought of sitting in front of my computer.

There were days I wanted to give up.

There were days I thought I could FLY!

My amazing friends, both online and in person, helped out by giving me encouragement and doing writing sprints with me. Without them, I’m not sure I would’ve made it.

BUT I DID IT! The first three days, I wrote novella 3 of the Lynch Brothers Series. Then, for the rest of the workshop I finished a Young Adult full length that I’ll be trying to publish traditionally.

I’m not going to lie. There were days when I was physically sick from the thought of getting through twenty pages. I type at my day job, so there was no break.

Day job from 8:30 to 5, forty minute commute, dinner, then writing from 6:30 to 11ish. I wrote by hand in the morning and on lunch, then I typed when I got home. I was in pain for almost the entire two weeks. Next time, I’m investing in some support gloves. Also, posture and stretching is SO important!

You just have to keep telling yourself that you can do anything for two weeks and that you are fearless. You have to accept the draft is going to suck — that’s why after Fast Draft you should stick around for Revision Hell! I’m about to start that now and I can’t wait. 

I finished all the books I wanted to write before next January in four weeks. In October. This leaves me a cushion for edits and promo (for the indie-published Lynch Brothers). And now, I’ll be able to enter my YA into Golden Heart, which is awesome.

Writing so fast makes your book better. You’re in the zone, in your characters’ heads, and inside of your story. Things flow better, edits are easier, and your life isn’t bogged down with the guilt of not writing.

Fast Draft was the hardest, best thing I’ve done for my writing career! Thank you, Candace Havens, for sharing your knowledge.

 


October 22 is known for:

  • National Nut Day!

    Nuts in chocolate? YES PLEASE!


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,
Heather Novak
Bold. Bewitching. Breathtaking. 

Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak
Website: Heathernovak.net

Author of The Lynch Brothers Series
Be careful what you wish for…

Hunting Witch Hazel: February 2016
Threat of Raine: March 2016
Rosemary for Remembrance: April 2016

 

Note: You may have noticed my signature has changed. The anthology I was part of has been pulled due to a contract conflict. Not to worry! My book is getting a face-lift and will be up for sale again after the holidays:)

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

