Getting Creative by Mandy Rosko

Okay, maybe my brain is just fried because it’s the end of the month and I can’t see how broke I am already (shopping sprees baby, yeah!) but I’ve been going a touch insane with the need to be buying art supplies.

Never mind the fact that I hardly have any time to learn how to draw or paint or do any of that stuff, or that I should still be working on the edits of my book for the Woodland Creek series and the Dangerous Creatures series.

Nope. I need to be spending every extra red scent I have on sketchbooks, satchels, and Copic markers (Because all of those things are awesome, dammit!)

😀

Right, I’m a little insane right now, but I’m making it a priority!

A priority that comes after the writing and editing one, of course. Lol, but so far I’m not doing so bad. I’ve had five classes at the art center so far, and while I’m the worst in class, it’s the effort and time put in that matters, right? Right? Eh?

Yeah, anyway, because I’m a shopaholic, sometimes I tend to know enough about art supplies and manga to make my characters halfway experts in certain subjects. The latest thing that will probably be griped about by an artsy character in my books?

How fricken expensive Copic markers are!

I want to cry. I want these things so bad. I went on a binge about a year or so ago to get some. Mostly I bought the knockoff brand, but they still work nicely, and I swear one day I’ll be skilled enough to be drawing and inking my characters. That will be so awesome.

Until then, it’s like the girly little shopaholic in me has convinced myself that I need to buy as many of these expensive markers as possible, or else that tiny dream will just never happen. Realistically I know that fear is horse shit, but I can’t help it. Do you have any idea how much willpower is took for me to not go down to the nearest Micheals with one of their 40% off coupons just to look through their sets? It was painful… I’m coming full circle and the crazed collector and shopper in me needs these things.

Kind of reminds me of all those times I maxed out my credit card so I could buy every book there was on the art of writing romance, character development, emotions, and everything else in between. Not to mention all the journals and pens I’d buy with the intention of writing my books out longhand, something I’ve only ever done once with a novella BTW, and even that hurt.

I need someone to share this pain with me. Anyone else ever go on binges like this for your creative loves? Writing? Scrapbooking? Jewelry making? Painting… Copic markers?

Lol. I need to know that I’m not a psychopath, so anyone who shares my pain, feel free to leave your comments below. We can breathe a sigh of relief together 😉

BTW, Big Thank you to everyone who picked up their pre-order of the Taming the Monster Alpha Box Set. You all rock ❤

Cheers,

Mandy

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in romance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Creative by Mandy Rosko

  1. Leslie Bird Nuccio says:

    Mandy, I feel your pain. Seriously. I love to learn, always have. But as you said, when the bug hits, I have to run out, or worse open my laptop, and find the best of the best stuff for that craft, trade, etc., drool for about fifteen minutes then hit ‘buy’. Photography, jewelry supplies, non-fiction books and my TBR pile (oh, the books about books- hubby calls them my piles of kindling), dog stuff (we do Doberman rescue), the list goes on. And why do I have to pick such expensive hobbies? Ugh. You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

