The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais and An Author’s Twisted Journey by Susan Hanniford Crowley

The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais is the second book in my original series 51Fz-MSFmWL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Vampires in Manhattan. This book is all about David Hilliard (King Max’s son) and how he finds love.

David is a Manhattan vampire yearning to find love and asks God to have mercy on his loneliness. In that moment, his life is about to change.

Laura Cordelais is equally lost. In one day, her fiance dumps her, she gets a phone call that her mother has died in New Orleans, and she is robbed so she can’t get to the funeral. In that same moment, when the despair becomes too great, Laura climbs over the railing of the Brooklyn Bridge. Then she changes her mind, and in trying to climb back, she slips.

*

The book was originally titled The Vampire’s Wish, but my editor thought it too bland. So I made a joke and said, “The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais.” She loved it and that’s how it got it’s name. In the book, Laura has an inherited supernatural talent to control the weather, as she is descended from an ancient race called the Telkhines who actually lived on the island of Rhodes.

Like all of my books, I dreamt the story. It baffled me because at the time when I wrote the first draft, I wasn’t a romance author yet and wasn’t quite sure what to do with it. I showed it to my critique group at Critters.org, who were all science fiction and fantasy authors. Then a friend recommended another online critique group called Rom Critters, who were all authors seriously pursuing romance. That’s when the rewrites really began to fly.  I was writing vampire romance! This book was written before the first book in the series. It happens sometimes. I don’t always dream books in order.

I’ve been thinking a lot about David and Laura this week, as I’m entering the changes to my latest novel-in-progress. It’s all about David’s sister Noblesse (Book 2 in the Arnhem Knights of New York series). I’m revisiting King Max and the vampires of New York and as I get it finalized to send to my critique partner, I’m playing with the vamps one more time. It’s like visiting family. Giggles.

The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais is available in Amazon Kindle and Print.

Ah, the twisted journey of an author!  Just when you’ve nailed down your profession, you change! For me it was as a science fiction and fantasy author to a paranormal romance author. It’s funny how these things happen. We prepare for one thing and do another. Has this happened to you too?

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley
http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in A Vampire for Christmas, Characters, dreams, Emotions, Max Vander Meer, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, romance, romance novels, Susan Hanniford Crowley, the romance of life, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, What inspires you?, When Love Survives, Writer's Life, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

