Writing 20 pages a day?! Crazy…or is it? by Heather Novak

No, I’m not crazy.

Well yes I am, but hear me out.

At last week’s Greater Detroit Romance Writers of America meeting, I had the honor, pleasure, and immense opportunity to meet Candace Havens (Entangled editor and romance author)!!! She did her “Fast Draft” workshop (Starts September 27 online!!), which was all about writing a book in a month.

One book in one month. One full length book in one month.

I’m not joking.

20 pages a day, 2 to 3 hours. It’s amazing.

I work a full time day job with a long commute, so I write at night and typically only 2,000 words at a time. Before I signed up for the class online, I tried the “fast draft” techniques out for three days.

I was 10,000 words in and needed to get that other 10,000 or so to finish the draft. I set the lofty goal of 20 pages a day (5,000 words) and started working.

The first night almost killed me. Three hours, but I got 20 pages.

The second night, I fell asleep at my desk 12 pages in, so I resigned myself to working extra hard day three. Day three, I finished the draft. My brain was mush, but I did it.

So guess what? That 20 pages is totally doable.

Here are my tips:

  1. Meal prep. Make a ton of dinners (and lunches even!) and freeze them. Keep cereal on hand, take out menus, anything fast. I find that I have to do my writing between 6:30pm and 10pm, or else I’m useless. I either fall asleep or I’m so revved up, I can’t sleep.
  2. Make sure someone is holding you accountable. 
  3. Do your laundry and blog posts ahead of time 🙂
  4. Warn your friends and family. You’ll be so out of it, you’ll not want to answer your phone.
  5. Schedule a massage after. Writing 20 pages a day is killer on your back and wrists. 
  6. Research and prep your materials beforehand. I’m a pantser, so I don’t outline, but I made a graph of where I want my characters to go and major events and stuck it next to my computer.
  7. Believe in yourself. 

It seems daunting. But when you finish that first book after the workshop, it’s a high unlike anything you’ve ever felt. If you can write an entire book and revise it in a month (second class is called Revision Hell), all those impossible doors now open.

I’ve signed up for the class and will be aiming to finish two books. I’m going to work on my third novella for The Lynch Brothers Series and finish a YA contemporary I’m 8,000 words into. That means, when the class ends, I will have written three of my stories in two months.

This is the best, hardest thing I’ve ever done. Hope to see you in the class!


 

September 24 is known for:

National Cherries Jubilee DayD-Cerise

 


Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,
Heather Novak
Bold. Bewitching. Breathtaking. 

Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak
Website: Heathernovak.net

Author of Hunting Witch Hazel featured in Falling Hard (A New Adult Anthology).

Heather 2D FallingHardAnthology_2500px

Hunting Witch Hazel Trailer

Available Now!
Amazon U.S.
http://amzn.to/1G0aCoQ
iBooks
http://apple.co/1Fb1Nrp
Amazon UK
http://amzn.to/1bKvOmc
Kobo

 

 

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing 20 pages a day?! Crazy…or is it? by Heather Novak

  1. Definitely hard, but doable! Love the meals tip.

Leave a Reply

