Failure is Okay

I listened to a Planet Money podcast this week called The Scariest Thing in Hollywood and it was soooo interesting. I love Planet Money but even more so I love the surprises they bring every week. This latest podcast really centered around failure (which I didn’t really get from the title) and pretty much the treasure we can find in embracing failure. I don’t want to spoil the podcast for you so I’m going to leave it at that and encourage you to listen to it.

This year has been all about failure for me, both professionally and personally. I’ve questioned what I want to do, why I want to do it, how to do it. I’ve pondered over possible failure in the workplace (some of which I’ve experienced) and possible failure as a mother. I know my thoughts aren’t new and I know the questions I ask myself are the same that many ask themselves each and every day. Still, I have to say what has truly made this year great is not so much the failure I’ve experienced or felt but more so the fact that I’ve embraced it and learned from it and come to new terms in my life. I’ve also realized that I’d much rather be failing and learning than remaining stagnant in life. Why? Because it adds more meaning and connects it to something I can truly invest in.

One of the perks of my company is health coaching. I, like many, want to be healthier, want to lose weight, want to feel good. When my health coach asked me why it took me a while to think about it. Nobody had ever asked me why I wanted this. Instantly, I thought of being able to keep up with my kids not simply now but in the future. I realized I want to be strong and confident and feel good about myself. I started connecting this to other things in my life. Why do I think about moving back east? Why do I want to write? Why do we continue to always want so much?

I don’t know all the answers but I will say I’m committed to spending more time thinking about why I want what I want and deciding what is truly important. I’m also okay with failing along the way as long as I continue growing and learning.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

