The Weirdness of Editing A Book by Susan Hanniford Crowley

What is weird about editing?  It’s the funny things authors do that they hope their editors catch and readers never see.  Before my editor sees my novel, I go over it with a fine tooth comb. Here’s are some of the tougher things I’m looking for:

  1. Love scenes. I have to make sure there are the right number of arms and legs. I know that seems odd, but in the past, my scenes have been so exuberant that I lost track of what went where, resulting in multiple limbs.
  2. Disappearing clothes. When my vampires make their clothes vanish, I have to make sure they’re dressed again before going out in public. I know this is a quirk particular to my books. Every book has something unique to it.
  3. Words. Every word must count to show the character in fear, passion, doubt, and strength. The words a character uses are a kind of self-portrait.

Though there is more to editing, I will be looking throughout my book at these three things first to bring out the heart and soul of the story my characters live.

There will be more to come.

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!
Vampire King of New York available at Amazon Kindle and print, Barnes and Noble Nook and print and in Kobo
A Vampire for Christmas in Kindle

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in Characters, Emotions, Love/Sex Scenes, Max Vander Meer, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, romance, romance novels, Susan Hanniford Crowley, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, Writing Craft, Writing Topics, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Weirdness of Editing A Book by Susan Hanniford Crowley

  1. Oh I love trying to edit love scenes! I call it the “hand check.” Where are the hands? How did they get from this location to that location? How many hands do I have? 🙂

Leave a Reply

