Nearing the End of A Manuscript and The Story-in-Waiting

I’m working on the most important scene in the book. So many pieces come together here. BellaEverything hinges on a decision that the hero must make. It makes me shake and pace. I have paced a lot doing this one scene. I’ve written it and crossed it out and written it again. Finally it has arrived.  I am amazed, gratified, and a little sad. Not for the characters but because the book is ending.

It’s at this point, where I have to push harder. Get the words out and done. Finish and write “The End.”  89iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii55555555555555555rtttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

I left my seat for a moment, and my cat Bella decided to do some writing. She was right, of course. I’m so close to the end and I got distracted by an intriguing movie called “Miss Meadows.” It’s not your standard fare at all.  It’s a strange film starring Katie Holmes in a very unexpected character. Yesterday, my husband tried to distract me with a movie called “Zombeavers.” It’s dreadful. Truly don’t see it.

I think that distractions are one of the obstacles as you write the final pages. Since I’m writing a series, I’m not really going to miss my characters. I’ll see most of them again in the next book. When I was on a radio show, the host asked me if I could write a particular type of vampire. I considered that I probably could. I told him that if I dreamt of the character then there would be a book for him. So I have my challenge all ready waiting for me and tons of notes about the story-in-waiting.

What do I mean by the story-in-waiting? I’ve already dreamed most of it. My typing now has to play a catch-up game with my mind. I have maps of the place, a story line that is more like a list, the lists of characters in attendance, names and their meanings, and details about the place. So this next book waits patiently while I wrap up this one.

I’m back to writing. No matter how much you may not want the story to end, it calls you to finish. I guess every story must come to an end, so something more can happen.

Waves!  See you next week!

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!
Vampire King of New York available at Amazon Kindle and print, Barnes and Noble Nook and print and in Kobo
A Vampire for Christmas in Kindle

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

