How to Pack for A Convention When You Drive to It by Susan Hanniford Crowley

Whether you go to RWA National, Pi-Con 9, or another convention, packing is key.

You have probably heard that I’m going to Pi-Con 9, July 31-Aug.2, which starts off with the Friday Writers Workshops and then dives into the Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Convention. How do you pack for such a combination of events?

First, I’m not flying so I’m not packing light. I’m packing my car and driving. This can be confusing even to me, so I do it by category first.

  • CLOTHES
    I break it down by outfits! I make a checklist. Here is a sample:
    __Thurs.: Move-in: jeans and top, sneaks…later dress for cocktail party
    __Fri.: Business dress for panels and presentation
    __Sat.: Business ensemble for panels and presentation…costume for Steampunk Tea
    __Sun.: Dressy but comfortable for reading, saying goodbye, and then moving out
    __Sleepwear
    __Swimwear (optional)

I always pack my costume separately from my clothes and hang it up as soon as I get in the room. I hang up my formal clothes next.

I have found that packing by outfits which includes accessories and shoes eliminates trying to decide what you’re going to wear when. I also bring an emergency formal attire in the event of flying speghetti, but that’s a story for another day.

It’s a funny thing with me but I always bring a pair of slippers to conventions with me. Usually I only wear them in the room, but I’ve been known to walk around in them if my feet hurt. I put shoes in the bottom of my bag.

  • EQUIPMENT
    This could be a bag for devices, notebooks, pencils, extra cords, batteries, index cards, notes.
  • MEDICATION
  • TOILETRIES (I put shampoo and other liquids in seal-able plastic bags to protect everything else.)
  • WHAT NOT
    This could be a bag for books that you intend on collecting at the conference or gifts you’re are bringing to friends or gifts you’re buying to bring home. I might also have snacks and portable food for the room in this bag.

Of course, if I was flying to a convention, my packing would be lighter and somewhat different. So have I forgotten anything?  Please, put it in the comment box so we can added it to the list.

Thanks.  Hope to see you at Pi-Con.

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!
Vampire King of New York available at Amazon Kindle and print, Barnes and Noble Nook and print and in Kobo
A Vampire for Christmas in Kindle

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in A Vampire for Christmas, Max Vander Meer, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, Readers Conference, romance, romance novels, Susan Hanniford Crowley, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, Writer Workshops, Writer's Life, Writers Conferences, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

