Holding Out For A Hero by Heather Novak

 Happy Fourth of July week!

Sexy male model posing with white T-shirt and jeans on. Looking stylish

Err…what was I saying??

I’m proud to share that two of my brothers, my sister in law, and my cousin have served in the United States Military, with several tours of Iraq and Afghanistan between them.

Thank you to all of our service women and men!

Today, I want to focus on the other unsung heroes. The people who also give their all as we stay home in our Snuggies watching bad reality TV. I really love bad reality TV. #noshame.

To the American Red Cross, Americorp, the Peace Corps, and so many in between, to people so much braver than me (really it’s not that hard to be braver than me), thank you for doing amazing things to help mankind.20150625-220542.jpg

 

So my hero of the week? Meet my youngest brother, Matt Novak!

On July 4, Matt is boarding a plane to the Philippines for two years!

Philippines  infographics, statistical data, sights. Vector illustration

Fun fact: The spiders are as big as your face!

 

 He’ll be on the coast, helping rebuild ecosystems, saving coral reefs, and teaching fisherman and farmers how to meet their needs without destroying the environment. As well as making friends with spiders and learning to breathe in 500% humidity. I can tell you, he’s way smarter and cooler than me!

 

In May, Matt graduated from the School of the Coast and Environment at Louisiana State University! After traveling across the country to see all the family, he arrived back in Michigan where we binge watched movies and ate more ice cream than I care to admit.

image

image

 

And the best part? Many hours of watching:

Air. Guitar. World. Championships.

View this amazing international spectacle here.

6e2e0666-6ac0-4973-a6b8-487093617dc1
Team Eric “Mean” Melin!

So what is the Peace Corps and why should I care? ‘Cause really, Catfish is on my DVR and I have to get to that, ASAP!

I got the phone call one weekday afternoon at work. Matt screamed, “I got accepted to the Peace Corps! I’m headed to the Philippines!”

My first reaction was, “YAY! You’ve wanted to do this for so long!” My second reaction was, “YOU’RE LEAVING ME FOR TWO HOLIDAY SEASONS?! WHO WILL BE MY COHORT AND HIDE IN THE BASEMENT WITH ME AND A BOTTLE OF WINE?!” My third reaction was, “What the hell is the Peace Corps?” So, I looked it up.

According to the website, www.peacecorps.gov, the Peace Corps is:

As the preeminent international service organization of the United States, the Peace Corps sends Americans abroad to tackle the most pressing needs of people around the world. Peace Corps Volunteers work at the grassroots level toward sustainable change that lives on long after their service—at the same time becoming global citizens and serving their country. When they return home, Volunteers bring their knowledge and experiences—and a global outlook—that enriches the lives of those around them.

The Peace Corps’ Mission

To promote world peace and friendship by fulfilling three goals:

  • To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained men and women
  • To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served
  • To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans

So, from what I’ve gathered, it means that Matt is going to do really awesome work and be really important. More awesome than you, probably. Let’s be honest.

I’m so proud of my littlest brother, who isn’t quite so little anymore. So everyone, wish Matt a safe and wonderful trip! If you’ve served in the Peace Corps, I’d love to hear from you.

If you’d like to follow along with Matt’s adventures, you can do so here: matthewinthephilippines.blogspot.com

Fun fact white stamp text on green backgroundFun fact alert! July 2, 2015 is known for:

  • I Forgot Day – I think…I can’t remember…
  • World UFO Day – Get out your tinfoil hat!

 

Want to know another, awesome, super great fun fact?!?!?

Survivor

Today, July 2nd, 2015: I will officially be in remission for 12 years!

*sings* “Happy Tumor Free to Meee!”

 

Be thankful today and hug a vet!

Wishing You Laughter & Good Books,
Heather Novak
Bold. Bewitching. Breathtaking. 

Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak
Website: Heathernovak.net

Author of Hunting Witch Hazel featured in Falling Hard (A New Adult Anthology).  
Heather 2D FallingHardAnthology_2500px

Hunting Witch Hazel Trailer

Available Now!
Amazon U.S.
http://amzn.to/1G0aCoQ
iBooks
http://apple.co/1Fb1Nrp
Amazon UK
http://amzn.to/1bKvOmc
Kobo

 

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

