Love Wins!

Kcno5bXBi

I am not one who is political in any way, but I had to do a little Happy Dance yesterday when the Supreme Court ruled that  same-sex marriage was a right in all 50 states. Hooray!

I have had gay friends since college and have seen their anguish that they couldn’t have the security of a relationship sanctioned by legal marriage. So yesterday I was cheering right along with all the other people who believe that love knows no boundaries. And I was very proud that the United States has stepped up to the plate and made same-sex marriage the law of the land.

My daughter said to me today, “Now kids in school are going to have another date to memorize.” I somehow think it may not go that far, but I know a lot of people will remember that date.

white house

“No longer may this liberty be denied. No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice and family. In forming a marital union, two people become something greater than once they were.” I read the words of Justice Kennedy and think about my own marriage. I celebrated my wedding anniversary a week ago, and I now look at the meaning of the act with new eyes. And with gladness that those who were denied this wonderful institution are now free to express their love “from sea to shining sea.”

Love wins! Can there be a greater joy than that?

This entry was posted in Jenna Jaxon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Love Wins!

  1. sheialanipov says:

    nop…no greater joy

  2. D'Ann says:

    As you know, this affects me deeply! So happy I cried.

  3. melissakeir says:

    My two brother-in-laws are gay. My aunt was gay. They deserve to find love and be happy. I’m so glad that this happened so that they can finally gain the rights associated with marriage. 🙂

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Love is love wherever you find it, however you express it. To deny people that right was so wrong. And like people have been saying, now it’s not gay or straight, it’s just marriage. 🙂

  4. I have long support the right for gays to marry, and I am extremely pleased with this decision. We’ve been heading in that direction for a while.

Leave a Reply

