Can We Have it All?

This title embodies a question that many of us writers ask ourselves. Really we are asking ourselves if we can write full time because that is what makes us happy, or it could mean we are doing a day job, writing, taking care of kids and essentially, being super mom. Am I wrong? Maybe or maybe not. I don’t think I am but I may not have covered all bases so go ahead and add in what I’ve missed.

Why am I rambling about this? Well, my day job is going through huge change right now which basically mixes up a lot of positions. The end result? Perhaps a better run department with a lot of different positions. Of course, in the meantime, everyone is searching out where they’ll end up. And management is directing all to search out what it is that they truly want to do.

In times like these, I can’t help but reflect on what it is that I love about my day job, what I’d do if I wasn’t working there, whether my writing would ever be able to support my family? There is so much we can ask ourselves and so much to think about that in many cases, that is where it stops. I’m at a period of growth right now so I see to be pushing through these barriers that have kept me stagnant for so long. That being said, I still don’t know the answer to my title. I know the answer I want is a resounding YES but truth be told, I don’t know how to achieve that. Not yet at least.

Moral of the blog? I do (naively or not) believe we can have all we want, but I don’t believe it comes with any ease. Simply said, the first step is deciding what you want. The second is going for it– best of luck!

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can We Have it All?

  1. When I first started working on my first novel, I worked full time. My husband and I only had one daughter, but it wasn’t long before #2 was on the way. After she was born, I quit my job and I’m a stay at home mom now. Of course, I couldn’t just take care of the kids, write, cook, clean, and take care of a farm. I had to go and add on homeschooling, too. LOL. It’s busy, it’s hectic, but it’s all I want. Good luck on the getting through the changes on your job!

Leave a Reply

