New Kid on the Blog by Heather Novak

Hello Friends!

Heather Novak Press photo 1My name is Heather Novak and I’m so thrilled and honored to be the newest blogger on Nights of Passion! I’m an indie author who is trying to be a hybrid (traditional and indie print). I’m halfway there. I just released book one in my New Adult series, featured in Falling Hard (A New Adult Anthology).  Contributing writer Stacy Hoff gave me one heck of an interview on my new book and my life with RWA. Make sure to check it out later this month!

dog_explaining_the_factsHere are some fun facts about me –

I love writing and reading romance! My stories always feature strong heroines and bold subject lines saturated in dark humor. Don’t worry – I PROMISE happy endings. Life’s too short for sad endings! (Nicholas Sparks is banned from the house by my Prince Charming.)

Yes, I have a Prince Charming. He really hates that nickname because it’s “so uncreative.” So clearly, that’s what I call him. I remind him that it’s better than Prince Eric – seriously people, Ariel had red hair. How could he not figure it out?!

I had purple hair before it was cool. When my gray glitter hair started coming in several years ago, my amazing hair-apist introduced me to purple hair stain. I’ve never looked back!

I’m allergic/intolerant to most delicious things (bread, mustard, ribs…) I can’t have anything from a cow – that’s right, no cheese, butter, milk, ice cream, beef, nothing. I miss cheese. They make pretty decent fake ice cream, so I’ll happily pig out on that.

Ice cream in container and ice cream spoon on wooden table close-up

This container says 4 servings…                     CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

I love tacos. Like, I love tacos more than I love most people. My four major food groups are tacos, waffles, vegan ice cream, and peanut butter.

Mmmm…peanut butter….

I once wrote a song about peanut butter and posted it on Twitter. Smuckers contacted me and sent me a free jar, pretty much reinforcing my obsession. We also need to take a moment and talk about the amazingness of vegan chocolate peanut butter. I eat it out of the jar. It’s a sickness.

Vegan Chocolate PB

Sometimes, one must sit on the floor of their cubicle and eat peanut butter out of the jar. (Hair pulled back and no make up? Clearly a Monday.)

Yes, I’m the person who makes up weird songs about everything. You should see my The Voice audition…

I have an unhealthy obsession with The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. I have the book, the DVD, and my YouTube channel ready to play an episode (or 12) at any given moment.

I’ve seen the 2005 Pride and Prejudice literally no less than 600 times. I’ve had to replace the DVD. I’m not using the word “literally” to mean “figuratively” like the dictionary now deems “acceptable.” Oh no. I used to play the movie before I went to sleep almost every night for two years while living across the country from my Prince Charming. Do the math (cause, really, I don’t do math).

I can’t spell. It’s bad. If you’re in my house while I’m writing, you will hear me yell questions on how to spell something because not even spellcheck can help me.

Pitch Perfect Reinactment

When I went to my little brother’s graduation at Louisiana State (where Pitch Perfect was filmed), we recreated scenes. Not weird…right? RIGHT?!

I have a massive girl crush on Anna Kendrick (Pitch Perfect). I Twitter stalk her like a 15 year old girl checking up on her older I’m-crazy-about-you-because-my-parents-don’t-like-you boyfriend. True. Story.

I’m pretty sure I could not live without Amazon Prime.

I love country music and still listen to Hanson (Yes they’re still a thing). Don’t judge.

I was on the radio for almost a decade, co-hosting a show that played music from the 1920’s to 1950’s, and I grew up in a theatre. I forget people my age have never heard of Glenn Miller or seen a silent film.

I have nightmares about dinosaurs. I don’t watch Jurassic Park, I won’t go to the theme park, I won’t read the book, nothing. Keep your dinosaurs.

My goal each week is to make you laugh, think, and smile! A huge thank you to Nights of Passion for inviting me to share the strange ramblings of my mind with you all.

business card logoWishing You Laughter & Good Books,
Heather Novak
Bold. Bewitching. Breathtaking. 

Find me at:
Twitter: authorheathern
Facebook: authorheathernovak
Website: Heathernovak.net

Author of Hunting Witch Hazel featured in Falling Hard (A New Adult Anthology).  
Heather 2D FallingHardAnthology_2500px

Hunting Witch Hazel Trailer

Available Now!
Amazon U.S.
http://amzn.to/1G0aCoQ
iBooks
http://apple.co/1Fb1Nrp
Amazon UK
http://amzn.to/1bKvOmc
Kobo
http://bitly.com/1GjXN90

 

About Heather Novak, Author

Bewitching romance with a bold twist. Focusing on powerful imagery and emotional storytelling – you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry. Only Happily Ever Afters allowed.
This entry was posted in Emotions, paranormal romance, romance, romance novels, RWA, Social Media, Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Kid on the Blog by Heather Novak

  1. Susan Hanniford Crowley says:

    Welcome, Heather. We’re so glad you’re with us.

Leave a Reply

