Flowers in Romance: What Are Your Favorite Flowers?

Qian Xuan [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Qian Xuan [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

I love flowers. Certain ones are very close to me. We see them all the time in romance novels, but do you know why an author chooses a particular bloom or bouquet?  Flowers are still quite the secret language. Many people know the meanings behind the different shades of roses. What about the other flowers?

I did create a sensation in a flower shop once by asking for the rose whose color indicates desire.  It’s coral by the way.  I bought a bouquet and so did the six people who were behind me in line that changed their minds from what they had in hand.  Giggles.

But seriously, let’s look at some other flowers and what they mean.

Red chrysanthemum means “I love you!” I didn’t know that.
The Daisy means innocence and hope.
Red Salvia means “You are mine forever.” Vampires should be sending those perhaps.
Willow means sadness.
A red Tulip is a declaration of love.
A Morning Glory denotes affection.
At this link you will find more: http://www.almanac.com/content/meaning-flowers

My favorite flowers are peonies, wisteria and lilacs. I could not find them all on that list so I found another list.

The Peony means healing.
The Wisteria means steadfast.
Lilacs mean first love.
These meanings come from the site: http://www.aboutflowers.com/flower-a-plant-information-and-photos/meanings-of-flowers.html

What are your favorite flowers?  Do you know what they mean?

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!
Vampire King of New York available at Amazon Kindle and print, Barnes and Noble Nook and print and in Kobo
A Vampire for Christmas in Kindle

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in A Lesson in Love, A Vampire for Christmas, Flowers, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, romance, romance novels, Susan Hanniford Crowley, the romance of life, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, Writer's Life, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowers in Romance: What Are Your Favorite Flowers?

  1. I love flowers, too, and have noticed they seem to show up in my books. It’s been an unconscious act, until recently. I love the Vampire and saliva comment. LOL. My favorites are the multi-layered petal orange daylillies that came from my mother’s yard years ago. They’ve moved all over the country with me.

  2. Hi Catherine, Thank you. I also have orange daylillies in my yard. My first house’s yard was encircled by then. I brought some with me to my current house. I just enjoy them so much. I love that they’ve moved all over the country with you.

Leave a Reply

