What I’ve Learned: Secret #21: How to Recover Your Blog Entry in WordPress

By Georgy90 (Georgy Papantoniou's Work in Nicosia, Cyprus) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Georgy90 (Georgy Papantoniou’s Work in Nicosia, Cyprus) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

This might seem funny but not so much. Many of us blog today and sometimes we have little time or are overtired. When we rush we make mistakes, and one mistake could make your blog go poof.

1.  In WordPress, there is an autosave that automatically saves every two minutes. In addition to this, I hit the “Save Draft” button every time I get the urge.

2. I also save if I am called away from the computer. Otherwise, in my house, with my lovely little sister cats, the post could end up looking like this: qwrafnadszzz   sadlsajoooweh. Aren’t they just eloquent?  Smiles.

In WordPress, you end up with Revisions listed on the bottom of the page whenever it saves.  They also appear in the Publish box to the right. At the bottom, they look like this.

Revisions_largeWhat happened last week is that I accidentally overwrote a previously published blog post, which I was using for its layout. What did I do?

1. I saved it.

2. I used Ctrl A to highlight everything on the post and then Ctrl C to copy. Then I left the post.

3. I made a new post and used a different title. Pasted there, saved, and then came back to the post that was messed up.

4. Going down to the bottom of the WordPress page, I found 4 Revisions. Two were made that day so I knew I didn’t want those.  Of the other two, I chose the most recent. I clicked on it and there was my blog post. The one that was published.

5. I saved it again and published it to the date it was originally published, which means I backdated it.  Everything was back!

What could I have done to avoid doing all that?  I could have clicked on Posts and scrolled down to Copy a Post from the very beginning of writing.  That’s so funny!  Now if any part of that has helped someone or showed you something you didn’t know, I’d like to hear from you.

And remember it’s “Thursday Love Yourself and Those Close to You Day!”

-Susan

Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!
Vampire King of New York published by Soul Mate Publishing and available at Amazon Kindle and print, Barnes and Noble Nook and print and in Kobo
A Vampire for Christmas in Kindle

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in Blogging Tips, Norse, paranormal, paranormal romance, romance, romance novels, Social Media, vampire books, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, Writer's Life, Writing Topics, Yule and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’ve Learned: Secret #21: How to Recover Your Blog Entry in WordPress

  1. Good to know since I have major fumble fingers! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

