A Fight Worth Fighting

As I write this, I’ve got a gazillion things floating through my mind. A co-worker of mine seems to be having a tough time of it and as I wonder why she puts up with it all, I can’t help but ask myself if it is a fight worth fighting. Even more, what is a fight worth fighting?

A few minutes before writing this blog, I was notified that a friend of mine had a massive heart attack and the prognosis is not optimistic. Either way, I’m an optimist and I need to hold on to some sort of hope that he will pull through. Yes, I will pray that whatever direction he takes, that he will be okay. And while selfishly I want him around longer, I also realize that he has lived a good life and this “fight” may no longer be worth it for him.

So what makes it worth it? The more I think about it, the more I believe that only each of us can define that for themselves. Some days, I bore of corporate America and I ask myself if this is all I have to give. Other days, I feel I’m truly making an impact and a difference in the world. For now, this fight is worth fighting for me and for my family.

Still, I love books, I love movies. I’m watching Unbroken as I type this up, and I can’t help but be inspired by Zamperini’s fight and determination. For him the fight was worth fighting. So this week’s moral of the story? You determine what is worth it and what isn’t. Fight the fight worth fighting and give it your all.

Happy writing this week.

This entry was posted in A writer's life, inspiration, Toni Kelly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

