Love and a Whole Lot More

Love, sex, desire, want, need, crave, hunger, happiness, lightness…there are so many words, so many different meanings but in many cases they are related to some degree. Okay, I’ll just come out with it… my household is a watcher of soap operas–not just any soap operas, but specifically novelas, mostly the Mexican variety of mini-soap operas we can find on Univision or Telemundo. I have to admit that even though I may catch an episode or two here and there, I never really get our thirst for these shows.

What is it? Is it the great looking actors or the somewhat predictable storylines? My mother-in-law would be a millionaire if she received a dollar for every time she accurately predicted what would happen next. Even as I write this blog, I find my eyes drifting up every so often to see a couple tear-streaked faces and a deep embrace–not to mention the music, the music to these novelas is great. It kills me that I get so sucked in but honestly, romance novels at times aren’t any different. And if I ask my self what appeals so much about them, I have a lot to say.

I love looking forward to that first kiss, to the romance itself, even the sex at times if written well and set up in a way that pulls us in. Lastly, I can’t wait to see how it will all work out with the happy ending.

So are these romance novels and novellas really that similar? I guess in the way they are and they aren’t. I definitely feel that novels have a bit more opportunity to add depth but the surface love, sex and passion can definitely be felt in both. And as long as we as a species continue to search for these, all forms be it TV soap operas, movies, novels, whatever it may be, will thrive.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance novels, Toni Kelly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

