You Don’t Need to Know Everything

I’ve known my share of know-it-alls and have quite a few of them in my family (who will remain nameless in case for some reason they just happen to stumble on this blog). Still, the older I get and the more I do learn, the more I realize that is okay not to know everything, that sometimes that is part of the life experience.

I’m down in Nicaragua again– an annual trip at this point. I marvel at how so much is unknown here and yet life goes on. I’m such a planner (with everything except writing) that sometimes I wonder if I miss out because I’m so busy looking forward and planning for the future. Why do I plan so much? I’m really not sure. Perhaps it is some way of knowing what some part of our future will hold. Silly, really as we don’t have as much control as we believe sometimes and others, we have more control than we want.

Despite my penchant for knowing my future and doing what I can to orchestrate it, I found myself telling a young boy the other day that it was okay that he didn’t know exactly what he wanted to do with his life or how and what he wanted to achieve. I admitted that I’m thirty-three years old and still trying to decide how I’d like my future to play and and quite frankly, a lot of the thoughts I had previously have changed with time and with kids. I think the only thing I’ve had to concede at this point is that maybe I might get to my “destination” in more of a roundabout way. But I’m okay with that.

So the moral of this week? It’s okay not to know everything or even a lot. Think about what you want out of life and what you like to do. Let that propel you forward and let yourself find your own way. It won’t always be easy but you’ll discover a lot along the way.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly, What inspires you? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

