Go For the Goal

We are our own worst enemies. I’m my biggest critic. How many times have you heard or said that and how true is it? In my opinion and life experience these statements are often more true than not. It’s unfortunate as life is so short (another cliche but very true statement) and we spend so much of it worrying and planning for a better future– one which may never come for some of us.

I know. I work in finance and talk to peopl about their retirement all the time. I was recently referred to a blog by a Mr. Money Mustache to gain tips on saving and the possibility of early retirement. His posts are quite fascinating not only due to the tips and practices he shares but for the utter discipline he and his family implement to reach their goals. Unfortunately, this is something many of us lack. The good news is it doesn’t have to be that way. It just requires a change of mind and strong discipline on each of our parts.

Now I’ll pause as you may be wondering at this point what I am talking about. I’m talking about whatever it is in each of our lives that we want AND whatever it is that might be holding us back from achieving what we want. If you want to write a book but don’t think you have the skills, join a critique group and take some classes. If you  want to find a new job and have it be something you love, put yourself out there. Now I’m not say to take crazy risks especially if others depend on you, but you can take calculated risks and make progress toward your goals. Moral of the story, there are so many obstacles out in the world, don’t add yourself to the mix. Go for what you want and happiness will follow.

I know, I can talk up writing fortune cookies for a living! Have a great week and happy writing.

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

