“WIPpersnapper” by Stacy Hoff

slow_data_entry

Some of my recent blog posts talked about WIP’s. WIP’s are what writers (like myself) call a manuscript that is a work-in-progress. My complaint last week was that there are simply too many other things for authors to get done, and our WIP often gets shoved aside so we can accomplish other tasks.

Well, I’ve found a way to push forward with my newest novel.  All it takes is for me to crack my own whip (or in this case, WIP). Specifically, by holding myself accountable every day to accomplish my word count goal. I set the bar low to entice me to get started. A low threshold prevents me from getting overwhelmed. Or worse, refusing to even start since I know I won’t have the time to finish anyway.

It’s actually a philosophy the exact opposite of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). For those unfamiliar, NaNoWriMo takes place every November, challenging authors (both aspiring and published) to write about 1,700 words a day in order to complete a 50,000 word novel in one month’s time.

But this goal is much too high for me. It takes me countless hours to reach NaNoWriMo’s 1,700 word count goal. Considering I have a day job, a family to take care of, and household responsibilities to get done, that’d be a mighty hard writing goal for me to reach in one day. In fact, I know I wouldn’t be motivated to start. So I set my word count goal real low, at a mere 100 words a day. I’ve found out with this simpler challenge, I often exceed it, sometimes getting in a 1,000 words before I fall asleep on my laptop.

Sure I’ll write at a pace slower than NaNoWriMo, but it’s my pace. And a slow pace is better than no pace, right? Now I better get going. It’s time for me to be a WIPpersnapper again!

What do you do to motivate yourself?

Find Stacy on Social Media:  www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff Twitter: twitter.com/authorStacyHoff   Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

Desire in the Everglades available on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Desire-Everglades-Stacy-Hoff-ebook/dp/B00NFSMCYG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1410289138&sr=8-1&keywords=desire+in+the+everglades.

 

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, goals, Stacy Hoff, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “WIPpersnapper” by Stacy Hoff

  1. Opening that document is the hardest part. Once those words are before you on the screen, it’s a downhill ride! In a good way 🙂 Keep on writing.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Gemwriter, I think you’re right. The simple task of even getting my work up on the computer screen can give me a needed jump start.

  2. Hi Stacy, I like the idea of setting a low threshold. It allows us to release expectations and then be pleasantly surprised when we exceed them. Joanne 🙂

    • stacyhoff says:

      Glad you’re with me, Joanne! I wondered if anybody would relate to my “backwards” way of thinking!

  3. stacyhoff says:

    Author / blogger SC Mitchell, thank you for the like!

  4. stacyhoff says:

    Bloggers My Journey 2 Scratch & Karen Rossi, I appreciate your likes!

  5. Beth Carter says:

    I like being underwhelmed and then surprised, too. Nice tactic. I seem to take 2-3 weeks off and then go full steam ahead with 1,500-2,500 words a day for a week until I tire out or burn out. I need to figure out how to stretch it out and be productive at least five days a week. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • stacyhoff says:

      Thank you, Beth! Your way doesn’t seem bad though, since you do wind up evening out with your word count.

  6. sueberger3 says:

    mY gOAL RIGHT NOW IS TO WRITE AT LEAST FIVE DAYS A WEEK. (sorry. Didn’t realize the cap lock was on.) I am rewriting. If I get in thirty minutes I have succeeded. I feel rather stuck at the moment so I am concentrating on doing it “Bird by Bird.”

    • stacyhoff says:

      I never thought of setting a time goal instead of a word count goal, Sue Berger. Maybe it will help to view writing as a “activity” I’ve got to fit into my schedule. BTW, I love the “bird by bird.”

  7. stacyhoff says:

    Blogger Renee Camus, Since I like your blog posts, too, the “like” from you is awesome. Thanks!

  8. gailingis says:

    Great post Stacy. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

