A Little Chemistry, a Lot of Impact

I know I must have mentioned Amy Cuddy and her Ted Talk on body language at some point or other. If I haven’t, I’m sorry and you can view it here. It certainly is motivational from the standpoint of us all belonging and the importance of acting like we belong even if we feel like a fraud or a failure. That is a valuable lesson for any of us to learn, but even more fascinating to me is the science behind it.

Now I’m not a scientist and I’m not even going to claim to have full knowledge or understanding of how the chemicals and hormones within us work, but if you watch the video, you’ll see Amy Cuddy talks about our Testosterone levels and our Cortisol levels and how we can actively control and change these levels just be our conscious actions. For instance, we can power pose (think wonder woman) or close ourselves into a little “shell” before an interview. I’m sure I don’t need to tell you which would result in the more confident and impactful interviewee– the power poser of course! Amy talks about how these power poses and boosts to our confidence can increase our testosterone and decrease our cortisol. It all makes sense and is quite fascinating even as it is silly.

Why silly? Well how often have you stood talking to yourself in the mirror, giving yourself a pep talk and standing strong? The truth is we probably don’t do that enough and if we did, those interviews, pitch sessions, public speaking sessions, etc. probably wouldn’t feel so incredibly awful and difficult and we just might find we fit in more than we thought.

If I haven’t convinced you yet, I have to tell you I’m a believer and I’m trying this. We’ll see how it goes but I’m only expecting good things.

Have a great week all and happy writing!

I know I must have mentioned Amy Cuddy and her Ted Talk on body language at some point or other. If I haven’t, I’m sorry and you can view it here. It certainly is motivational from the standpoint of us all belonging and the importance of acting like we belong even if we feel like a fraud or a failure.

This entry was posted in A writer's life, romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Chemistry, a Lot of Impact

  1. jannakaixer says:

    Amy Cuddy’s TED talks has got to be one of my favourite TED talks! I love the way in which she described the two poses and I, after listening to the talk, find myself paying attention more to my own body language and have found that doing the ‘power pose’ or just a strong pose before a big event really boosts my confidence. I’m not too sure of the science behind it, but I think a lot of how you feel is in how you carry yourself (if you carry yourself tall and proud you’ll feel better than if you slump whilst you walk), and learning to ‘fake it till you make it’.

    Thank you for reminding me of Cuddy’s talk!

    Janna

Leave a Reply

