Fairness and Perception

Life isn’t fair. I’d probably be fairly wealthy by now if I had a nickel for every time I heard this saying throughout my childhood, and that’s considering I had a pretty good time growing up. My son goes to preschool and I would say that most mornings someone is in tears. I manage people and I’d say that most mornings there are some sort of complaints I receive.

Why? Why are we such dissatisfied beings and why do we tend to see our “lot” as the poorly dealt one. I truly do believe that sometimes life isn’t fair. Yet, I also believe that things happen for a reason and sometimes that unfair route is the best one. That being said, the majority of us seem to have a perception that something is always wrong. My question is, is there really something wrong and is life always unfair or are we just perceiving things through negatively tinted lenses. In my opinion, I’d say it is a bit of both with a bit more weight on the negatively tinted lenses. Although I’d also say that depends on the person.

So what do we do with all this grumpiness we tend to carry around with us. The truth is that it is probably going to take a varying strategy for each of us (some more similar than others). Some might get our positive attitude change through self-help books, ted talks, motivational seminars, life experiences, etc. Others, might never get there and may just continue to wallow in their pity (misplaced or not).

What I would say is that although life isn’t fair, it is also what we make of it. We can wallow but that’s not going to change anything. So the real question is, do you want a chance to change or would you rather just remain in the state that makes you miserable and grumpy? I know what I would prefer.

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly, What inspires you?, Writer's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fairness and Perception

  1. I admit it, a lot of times I let bad situations get to me. It’s like a bad quirk in my personality. Sometimes, though, I grab a pen and some paper and start writing. When I get done, I have a scene with a couple characters who have just experienced what I’m feeling. More often than not, it turns out to be some of my best writing. Then I file it for a future story, unless it will fit into my current wip. I put a couple scenes like that into my work and was told by some readers that the scene had them in tears. Mission (of sorts) accomplished. We have to make the most of whatever comes our way…good, bad or indifferent.

Leave a Reply

