What I Have Learned So Far – Sharing Secret Two!

Secret Two was hard won and hard to believe at first.  Change can be hard to take and at times we’re just not ready for it. What do you do?

I learned recently from a very creative and long-time bestselling author that it’s best to Special gold eggdiversify. That’s the secret. I had grown up with the dream of being a writer and writing for one publisher, having one agent and sitting in my home office happily spinning tales for the rest of my life. Well, happily spinning tales for the rest of my life is already happening but the world around me is changing. I was surprised by my friend that she has more than one publisher and has republished (self published her reprints) books that have been returned when the publisher’s rights ended. Looking at her website, I see some of the biggest publishers in the industry all selling her books.

Diversify is good advice in every occupation as well as in investments. I know that’s why people are hurt so badly when they lose a job. Remember this–repeat this–your job is not who you are.  I know as an author when my first publisher closed doors, I was sad. Okay, devastated. But you pick yourself up and move ahead to the next adventure. Maybe there’s a new job calling you… a dream job. One you would never have gotten if you stayed where you were.  One you never thought of. We are all multi-talented with many possible adventures in our lives.

I’m looking at 2015 with eyes of wonder.  I’m going to diversify.  How about you?

What’s coming up for me next? I’m going to Arisia 2015

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley, Amazon Kindle Bestselling Author of Vampire Romance
www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
Where love burns eternal and whispers in the dark!
Vampire King of New York available at Amazon Kindle and print, Barnes and Noble Nook and print and in Kobo
A Vampire for Christmas in Kindle

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in Business, paranormal, paranormal romance, problem-solving, stress, writing, journal, diary, resolve, worked, relax., romance, Susan Hanniford Crowley, the romance of life, The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais, vampire books, Vampire David Hilliard, Vampire King of New York, Vampire King of New York In Print, Vampire Maximillion Vander Meer, vampires, Viking, What I have Learned so Far: Sharing Secret, Writer's Life, Writing Topics, writing workshop, Yule and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

