Specificity and Ambiguity

Specificity and ambiguity, both have a place for me in 2015. I’ve been thinking a lot about this year as I’m sure many of you have as well. Do we keep with the same old resolutions? How can we ensure our results will be different this year versus previous years? The truth is I’m not sure we can one hundred percent say that 2015 will be as perfect as we want. There are just too many variables beyond our control, but I also believe there is a different approach I can take that just may make a difference.

At my day job, we value specificity. I work in the financial world so the truth of the matter is we better be pretty darn specific as we’d have a lot of unhappy clients. So truly, this goal of specificity is a byproduct of my industry. Still, I have to admit that having specific goals really does help as we can create milestones in order to achieve these goals (baby steps!).

On the other hand, I’m a true believer in that out of this world, amazing excellence doesn’t always come from prescribed steps. I recently saw this movie called Chef where a chef was technically there. He worked hard, had all the right skills, etc. And yet, his food lacked passion. We see a bit of this in The Hundred Food Journey as well. To me, true excellence requires passion too for what we do and this is not easily spelled out in a schedule or a prescribed formula.

So what does all this mean and what exactly am I saying to make 2015 great for you? I say go for both. Have your goals, keep to your specificity for somethings, but at the same time, aim to be excellent each day. Find something that you are passionate about in your place of work (or play) and give it everything you’ve got. It redefines us as to whether we need to be perfect across the board or just really great at a few things. I’d say the latter!

Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly, What inspires you?, Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

