A New Year and a New Me?

In this long but short life of mine, I have to admit it feels a bit like a record as we finish one year and begin the next. This is probably the 3rd or maybe even 4th year that I am writing a blog about New Year’s Day and what the next year holds for me or even all of us.

Strange enough, I recently attended a children’s mass where the priest calls the children up to go over the gospel reading. Through his homily (or review of the reading) he spoke about each of us being a new us. Not so much within the New Year but just as we aim to better people. Well, it gave me food for thought as I contemplated whether I wanted another year and a bunch of half-finished New Year’s resolutions. I decided I didn’t.

So here is my thoughts as far as 2015 goes and perhaps every other year after that. I just want to be a better person and live my life to a better degree. I’m not aiming to write books or be a manager in 2015. I just want to write more and work smarter. I’m not aiming to lose weight or try juicing, I just want to be healthier. I’m not aiming to complete so many volunteer days, I just want to be more generous and more impactful to those around me. Sure I’m going broader and vaguer in my missions but the specificity can come as I go along. I’ve just come to the realization that a lot of times we quit early on because we aren’t meeting our “prescriptive” paths quick enough or exact enough, but I would ask what is important? Is it more important to check of the list or to grow as a person? I’m choosing the latter and this is my way of doing it. We’ll see how it goes.

Happy Writing this week and Happy New Year to you all!

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Toni Kelly, What inspires you?, Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

