Can You Keep Up?

I watched a video today in our department town hall (this is for the day job by the way). The video was fascinating, yet scary and it really came down to one key question for me in a business mindset–can we keep up with the pace the world is changing at? Our department lead said we’d be fortunate enough to hit the mark in the next 1-3 years let alone the next 5 due to the acceleration of change and the unpredictability of the future. I happen to agree with her.

So what does this change entail? Some of it is so out there that I’m not sure I would even notice it all, but some of it definitely hits home. It was incredible to me to see the resources we would deplete in this century alone. And I’m not talking strange five syllable ones, I’m talking the come “iron” and “copper” that we are familiar with. I mean, it’s come up tons of times and it is just something we tend to take for granted, but what about water? Could you imagine a world without it? Would there even be one to any degree? Probably not.

I know I’m fast forwarding here but the thought of all this was overwhelming beyond just a business standpoint. It made me wonder where we would even be as a species in a century. What will our world look like? As a writer and one with a very creative imagination, my mind takes me on a thousand journeys with this topic. And yet, I can help but wonder to some degree what happens with our minds as we evolve on these journeys. Will we digress or advance? What will we writers write about and what will readers want to read?

The world is changing fast, that is clear. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure I can keep up. I’m not sure if any of us truly can, but the plain fact is that we don’t really have a choice because continuous change is coming whether we like it or not. It always has and it always will (I know, change is the only constant). How do you see yourself fitting in? What legacy do you want to leave?

Thanks for joining me with the loaded questions before our upcoming holidays. Have a great week and happy writing!

This entry was posted in romance, Writer's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

