Do You Have Your List Ready? By Stacy Hoff

normal_clipboard

Do you have your New Year’s Resolution List ready yet? I sure as heck don’t. My indefinite goal is to keep running around in circles as if my rear-end is on fire and there’s no extinguisher in sight. Why? Because 2014, as wonderful as it was for me, had me dealing reactively, not proactively.

Hmmm. Maybe I should change all this.

Back in January, I didn’t expect to get “the call.” (Or in my case, an e-mail.) You know, the one writers all dream of, where a publisher finally tells you the words you’ve been desperate to hear, “We want your book.” As elated as I was, I quickly learned that all wonderful things come with a cost. I now had so many things I immediately needed to gear up for, from basic marketing techniques to social media. The stress of having to learn all these additional skills, and all at once, made me feel highly competitive with firefighters, running around from one emergency to the next.

So my goal for 2015 will now be to do things differently. Better. More organized. And at a slower pace. If I were to analogize the learning process to drinking beer—I’d equate it to wanting to take lady-like sips rather than doing a frat house chug.

Just sayin’.

For 2015, I will resolve to:

(1) anticipate, and prepare for, my needs well in advance of when I actually need them; and,

(2) be less obstinate, so I can overcome steep learning curves faster; and,

(3) Make time to keep writing actual books, despite all the marketing and social media stuff I’ve gotta do; and,

(4) above all, get my writing act together enough that I can spend more time with my family.

Whew! Good luck to me!

What’s your resolution for 2015? Have you prepared one yet?

 Find Stacy on Social Media:

www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff Twitter: twitter.com/authorStacyHoff   Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

Desire in the Everglades is available on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Desire-Everglades-Stacy-Hoff-ebook/dp/B00NFSMCYG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1410289138&sr=8-1&keywords=desire+in+the+everglades.

 

This entry was posted in A writer's life, Holiday, New Year, romance, Stacy Hoff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do You Have Your List Ready? By Stacy Hoff

  1. Kathryn O. says:

    I’m with you, Stacy. I often wonder if I’ll ever find time to write again. (Of course I will.) My social media engagements always seem a day late (more like a month) and a dollar short (more like a thousand). Congratulations! Looking forward to your next release. Loved reading “Desire in the Everglades.” So much fun.

  2. stacyhoff says:

    Thank you, Kathryn O! I’m so glad you can relate, and that you liked my book!!!

  3. stacyhoff says:

    Blogger Theirdialogue, I appreciate the like!

  4. Nice post, Stacy. I like your plan, but for me there is one thing that always throws a monkey wrench into the mix and that is WORK. Man, spending those 8-hours away from writing and marketing seem to really get in the way of my writing process. Still, my plan is to keep writing, keep marketing/social media, and to take a little time for myself. Thanks for sharing and I look forward to reading more of your work.

  5. stacyhoff says:

    Thank you blogger AC Cockerill for the like! (And for all the other likes from you!). 😄

Leave a Reply

