What I’m Thankful For

I’m making the assumption that this site is read by mostly adults so when I say “you” or “we” I really mean we adults. Do you remember the times when people actually used to care about whether you were sick or not? Do you remember others taking care of you? Somewhere throughout our aging process, we seem to reach an age when we are no longer the ones cared for (with chicken noodle soup and medicine and steam baths, etc.), but we are instead, the caregivers.

I experienced this the past couple weeks as myself and my two kids all got sick. In fact, I’m still trying to get over this rotten cold but at least it is somewhat bearable at this point. And the truth is I’m not here today to complain about being sick but to be thankful that we all seem to be getting through it (mostly my kids) and to remember all that I’m thankful for each and every day but most especially tomorrow.

Thanksgiving is always a bit of a reality check for me as I realize how thankful I am for many of the things I “whine” about. And then I realize that perhaps I should just be quiet and not complain less I have those things taken away. My job for instance. Would I prefer to be writing full time. Yeah, I would if I could do it at my leisure and choose what I write while making what I make at my day job. Unfortunately, that is not currently in the cards for me. So am I thankful for my current day job that at times I find frustrating, definitely. I’m thankful for my family and my health (however sickish I’ve been) and I’m thankful for the country I live in and those who fight for my and my kids rights. The truth is I’m thankful for quite a bit and my only resolution as we end 2014 and move into 2015 is to realize that and give cheers to it more often.

Happy Thanksgiving and feel free to share what you all give thanks for and cherish. Happy writing this week!

This entry was posted in Toni Kelly, Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

