Only Scandal Will Do: Katarina Interview

Ladies and gentleman, today I present to you a lady from one of my favorite and most recently read historical onlyscandalwilldo-41romances, Only Scandal Will Do. Hi Katarina! I’m so glad you could stop by today for an interview, especially as I know you’ve been extremely busy with this recent Scandal tour.

Katarina:  Thank you for having me, Ms. Kelly.  I think it’s sweet of you to want to talk to me about my…ahem, troubles.  A scandal tour does sum it up nicely.

Well, why don’t we get started because I want to make great use of your time. Now Katarina,

after reading Only Scandal Will Do, I have to admit that you are a bit of a fiery lady. Still, I

doubt even you could have ever imagined the way your finding true love played out. Am I

right? What did you imagine and would you have change anything about what happened?

Katarina:  You are correct.  The way this romance unfolded was quite extraordinary.  Being kidnapped and sold in a brothel auction are simply not the normal ways to meet a prospective suitor–even in London in the wicked times I live in.  Had I stayed in Virginia I either would have met a man at some social function, fallen in love, and married him.  Or I would have eventually married my dear friend Captain Amiable Dawson. 

 As for changing what actually happened…everything and nothing.  An enigmatic answer, true, but the circumstances should have been completely different–I should have met the Marquess of Dalbury at his aunt’s masquerade party.  A courtship arising from such an introduction would have been very different and, given a choice, I might not have accepted the marquess.  And the story would possibly not been as exciting and romantic.  So perhaps I would change nothing about our story.  It did, you know, involve a lot of fencing that I enjoyed thoroughly.

Now I know every author is different and some listen to their characters more than others. Is

there anything you wanted Jenna to do in the book that took some convincing on your part?

How successful do you feel you were in getting your way?

Katarina:  I feel she listened more to Duncan than to me.  He can be very persuasive, as you know.  But Ms. Jaxon and I think rather a lot alike, so there’s not a lot that I needed to persuade her about.  *pause* She could have let me win one fencing match against him.  Although she did allow me to score a touch or two.

Very true! And that in itself was quite impressive. Now if you don’t mind I’m going to ask a bit about your perspective on Duncan. I found him quite charming from the get go despite the unusual meeting you two had. What would you say is his best trait? Worst trait—that is if he has one!

Katarina:  *Laughs* I’m not surprised he struck you as charming, Ms. Kelly.  He’s the devil’s own charmer when he wants to be.  But it’s always for his own purposes, let me assure you.  His best trait, I believe, is his complete devotion to his family.  He will stop at nothing to keep them safe and happy.  That was, in part, the reason he pursued me so desperately, to find a wife and get an heir so the family would continue.  His reputation had struck him from all the “most eligible” lists in London.  So when he had the chance to marry me, he became very tenacious in his attentions.

Duncan’s worst trait, without a doubt, is his arrogance.  He was the only son, the heir, and his parents made too much of him.  When I met him, he seemed to think he was entitled to have his way in all things.  *Smiles* I disabused him of that idea immediately.  And I think it did him good to be taken down a peg.

 What about you? What would you say are your worst and best traits, and why?

Katarina:  Oh, that’s easy.  I have a brother who chides me constantly about my worst trait.  Stubbornness. I do set my mind to something and see it through no matter what.  Duncan has found that out as well, to his dismay.  But then, he swears he likes a challenge. 

My best trait, I would say, is courage.  I am not one to be caught in a bleak situation and just give up.  I was raised by a military man who instilled the need for courage in his troops as well as in my brother and I.  I would never back down from a situation, but rather meet it head on and go down fighting if I must.

I have to say you are very self aware! One last question as I find you a very heroic and forward thinking type of lady. What advice would you give to the rest of us women in facing the world and our fears?

Katarina:  As I said before, have courage.  Believe in yourself.  A woman, despite the handicaps placed on us by society, can be the most fearless, most courageous, most intelligent force in the world.  But you must allow yourself to believe that you can be these things.

Well your words definitely inspire me! Thank you so much for joining us today and have a great rest of your tour. Perhaps before you leave, you can give us a blurb and/or short except of Scandal?

Katarina:  I’d be delighted to, Ms. Kelly.  Below I’ve provided an overview of my book, Only Scandal Will Do, and excerpt–one that illustrates just how charming and persuasive Duncan can be–and how you may purchase our story. 

Thank you so much again, for having me on your site.  I’ve quite enjoyed your invigorating questions.  I must tell Duncan to pay you a call some time.  He’d think it great fun as well.

Blurb for Only Scandal Will Do:

He has the woman of his dreams, but what price will he have to pay to win her heart?

Kidnapped and sold at auction in a London brothel, Lady Katarina Fitzwilliam squelches an undeniable attraction to the masked stranger who purchased her, pits her wits against him, and escapes him and the scandal that would ruin her life.

Unable to resist temptation in a London brothel, Duncan Ferrers, Marquess of Dalbury, purchases a fiery beauty. She claims she’s a lady, but how can she be? No lady of his acquaintance in polite society is anything like her. Then he discovers she is who she says, and that this latest romp has compromised her reputation. He knows how that is. One more scandal and he’ll be cast out of London society, but he needs a wife who’ll provide an heir to carry on his illustrious family’s name. He seeks out Katarina, intending only to scotch the scandal, but instead finds his heart ensnared. He’s betting their future he’ll capture her heart, but does he have what it takes to win the wager?

WARNING: A blade-wielding heroine who crosses swords with a master of sensuality.

Excerpt from Only Scandal Will Do: 

His touch, like fine silk drawn over her skin, sent a pang of longing through her. Could she permit someone else to be strong for her, just this once? He understood the fears she faced tonight and sought to vanquish them, as any knight errant would seek to make amends. He continued to stroke her cheek, her jaw, her chin, his touch feather light. A powerful, unreasoning desire assaulted her to feel his strong arms around her, sheltering her from the harsh world. She was hardly surprised, then, to find him gathering her against his broad chest.

“Lean your head just there, sweet.”

She could hear the strong beat of his heart, smell the clean, comforting citrus of his cologne. The fresh scent reminded her of home.

“You will be all right now,” he whispered, holding her securely to him. Safe at last. She closed her eyes and leaned into his caresses, contentment stealing through her for the first time since leaving Virginia.

With a finger beneath her chin, he lifted her face up to his. Her eyes flew open and peace fled as he pressed her mouth with a gentle kiss that stole what breath she had left. His lips–soft, warm, insistent–generated heat all the way to her toes. A sensation so overpowering she forgot everything around her, giving herself completely to the pleasures of that kiss.

Somehow his tongue slipped through her quivering lips, stroked her tongue, and caressed the depths of her mouth. She groaned, her face aflame at this unexpected intimacy. No man had ever kissed her this way, plundering where he would and denying her the will to protest. Raw power leaped from his mouth, streaked through her body, inflamed her craving even more.

Every magnificent swirl of his tongue resonated, not only in her mouth but in the deep, private places of her body as well. She moaned into his mouth, the low, guttural sound rising from some unknown reservoir of need. Pressing against him, she slid her hands up the steely hard muscles of his back evident even through his cloak and clothes.

All she wanted was his hands on her, his tongue in her. Of its own accord, her tongue thrust into him, bringing a growl of approval that encouraged her to frenzied explorations of his warm, wet mouth. He slipped a hand down and rested it on the swell of her breast, impudently nudging a finger inside the gown’s low decolletage and brushing it against her aching nipple.

Blue fire shot directly from his finger through her breast, causing Kat to gasp and arch against him. With a chuckle the man released her lips, but before she could protest, lowered his head and seized her nipple through the sheer white cloth. The gauzy fabric might as well not be there, for she could feel every lash of his circling tongue. The crest contracted into a small, tight bud. Another streak of fire leaped straight to the vulnerable core between her thighs. An unexpected bloom of heat raced through her and she moaned louder.

 

Links:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Only-Scandal-Will-Do-ebook/dp/B008MNDCS4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1343150893&sr=8-1&keywords=only+scandal+will+do

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/only-scandal-will-do-jenna-jaxon/1112953790?ean=9781616504328

ARe:  https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-onlyscandalwilldo-889554-160.html

iTunes:  http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/only-scandal-will-do/id536593279?mt=11

This entry was posted in Characters, Toni Kelly and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Only Scandal Will Do: Katarina Interview

  1. Pingback: Only Scandal Will Do: Katarina Interview | Just a Reader's Ramblings

  2. Melissa Keir says:

    What a great interview! Thanks for sharing your insights!

  3. Love Katarina, Jenna! So glad I’m done with my long-term sub job in a couple of weeks so I can catch up on my reading. I love the cover too.

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Ms. Cameron. Yes, that cover is a bit more scandalous a representaion of me than I would care for (and even moreso for Duncan!), however, I understand from Ms. Jaxon that its scandalous nature is required to “sell more books.” So I suppose we are doing our bit for the cause. *whispers* It is rather thrilling, though, isn’t it?

  4. lizaoconnorl says:

    Lady Katarina does a very nice interview.

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Ms. O’Connor. It was not something I am used to, but I actually quite enjoyed the process. Ms. Kelly’s question were very interesting and delightful to answer.

  5. elfahearn says:

    Katarina is the perfect heroine. I love her fire, her wit and her interview style!

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Why thank you, Ms. Ahearn! What a lovely thing to say. I am so glad you enjoyed both my story and my interview, although I daresay neither my brother nor my husband would agree that I’m the perfect heroine. I’m too strong-minded for that, I suspect. Other strong women, however, might think differently. 🙂

  6. I loved this interview!! I tweeted and shared.

  7. NancyS.Goodman says:

    Great interview! Shared

  8. Wonderful interview. Does Kat offer fencing lessons? 🙂
    Shared.

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Ms. Cooper. I have never taught anyone to fence before, although I have given a lecture on a woman’s use of weaponry. However, if time permits, I will be happy to demonstrate the basics of swordplay. That is always my favorite pasttime, especially against my husband. 🙂 One often finds such a confrontation rather…invigorating.

  9. Katarina truly does have courage. I’d be a whimpering mass of jelly, in her shoes. Nice interview, ladies. It’s always interesting to get into a person’s mind, even a fictional person.

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you so much, Ms. Green, although I might disagree about your estimation of your courage. I believe you would rise to the occasion splendidly in a dire situation. Most women have a streak of steel in them they can call on when hard pressed. From what Ms. Jaxon has told me, I would wager you have that streak as well.

  10. Fun interview! Lady Kat has always been a fun character to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

