Contest and Interview with Erotic Paranormal Romance Author Roxanne Rhoads

Nights of Passion is excited to have Erotic Paranormal Author Romance Roxanne Rhoads with us.  Roxanne, when did you know you were a writer?Misty Overgrown Cemetary

When I was born with a pen in my hand. LOL. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing, or early on scribbling in a notebook. Words and books were my first love and my best friends and writing is the one thing I am always come back to.

What were your influences? 

I read everything I could get my hands on growing up from tween/teen books like Sweet Valley High and The Babysitters Club, to classic reads like NANCY DREW and even true literary classics like LITTLE WOMEN.

My favorites were anything with paranormal elements. I have to admit, like many, I was seduced into loving vampires through Anne Rice. Her worlds of vampires and witches totally pulled in me in.

I find places to be particularly moving often drawing you into a story. Your new book, ETERNAL DESIRE, is set in New Orleans.  Please, tell us what gave you the idea for the story and made you choose New Orleans?

New Orleans is a truly magical place. I don’t know if Anne Rice and her books was what originally attracted me to New Orleans but I know I fell in love with the place through books then again on a visit for Mardi Gras. I can’t wait to go back when it’s not so busy so I can really see the city.

Some of our viewers are writers and they’re interested in how much and what kind of research help develop a book  Please, share that process with us.

It depends on the book how much research you have to do. If you write what you know or just make everything up from scratch then it’s all about the writing. If you are writing about a place you don’t know well or writing in a historical setting then the research can be tremendous. 

Historicals are the trickiest. Getting everything right is essential. You can be writing something and then you’ll suddenly catch yourself and wonder “did those exist in 1854 or whatever date you are writing in”. I’ll usually stick a note in the manuscript then write it on my to-do list to go in for more research. Other times I have to do the research right then because it gnaws at me.

What’s ETERNAL DESIRE about?

Liz Beth, a paranormal researcher, is haunted by the seductive vampire, Quillon, who may or may not be real. She arrives in New Orleans the week of Halloween to search for the elusive vampire of her dreams and instead encounters a handsome stranger, Christien, with whom she begins a passionate affair with.
 
Soon she is torn between her dream lover and a flesh and blood man, both of whom are a mystery to her. The closer it gets to Halloween the wilder things become. LizBeth gets closer to the truth about Quillon while Christien has her under his own spell.

Will all be revealed at the Vampyre Ball or will the masks stay in place?
 
In New Orleans at Halloween anything is possible.

Which scene was the most fun to write?

The scene at the final ball when the ghosts and humans are interacting. That was a steamy scene to imagine.

Is there a character you would like to write about again?

I would love to continue this story with LizBeth and Quillon, maybe pop in on them after a few years and see how the relationship is going.

Tell us about your past work.

Torrid Teasers Volume 59 is available through http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/

http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=427

My story “The First Brick” appears in the Ravenous Romance anthology Kinky Couples in Love

http://www.ravenousromance.com/modern-love/lasting-lust-kinky-couple-in-love-anthology.php

My story “Summer Night” is a free read at AllRomanceebooks.com

http://www.allromanceebooks.com/newsletter189-2009-06-14.html 

And my fun and very naughty fairy tale “Princess Breastia’s Quest for Desire” is a free read at Night Owl Romance.

http://www.nightowlromance.com/nightowlromance/FreeReads/FreeReads.asp 

What new projects do you have?

“Candy Cane Thrills” has been selected for publication in Seriously Sexy Stocking Filler which comes out in November through Xcite Books www.xcitebooks.com

“A Halloween to Remember” has been accepted by eXcessica Publishing, release date currently unknown

“Cemetery Seduction” will appear in the Midnight Showcase digest called Dark Tales to be released May 2010

And I have a story scheduled to appear in an upcoming erotic paranormal anthology to be released by L &L Dreamspell.

http://www.lldreamspell.com/RoxanneRhoads.htm

Roxanne, do you have a writing tip to share with our viewers?

If writing is what you love then keep on writing, don’t give up.

Now for the contest: Roxanne is giving away a Fang-tastic Books desk set which includes a mousepad, notepad and pen to one lucky commenter to her interview. The contest will end at 9 pm Eastern time on October 15, 2009. For this contest, only contestants in the 48 continuous United States are eligible.  The contest is void where prohibited by law. Good luck, everyone!

Thanks so very much, Roxanne. It’s been a pleasure having you on Nights of Passion.

Thank you for having me.

For our viewers wanting more information on the stories and books of Roxanne Rhoads, see the links below:

www.fang-tasticbooks.blogspot.com

www.roxannesrealm.blogspot.com

www.twitter.com/RoxanneRhoads

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, and Science Fiction Author
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, erotic romance, paranormal romance, romance, romance novels, Roxanne Rhoads, Writing Topics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Contest and Interview with Erotic Paranormal Romance Author Roxanne Rhoads

  1. RKCharron says:

    Hi 🙂
    Thank you for the great interview!
    I’ve read SUMMER NIGHT & I love Roxanne’s way with words. Thank you for the great links to more of her works. And thanks to Roxanne for sharing. I took her advice to heart, and I won’t give up.
    I’m going to get ETERNAL DESIRE.
    All the best,
    RKCharron
    xoxo
    PS – I am Canadian so don’t enter me in the contest.
    PPS – I’m Following this great blog on Google Reader now.
    🙂

  2. Rosie Carlo says:

    Thanks for the great interview. The book sounds great, especially with a paranormal investigator. Love books with that premise.

  3. Alicia H says:

    I see this book all over blogs. I’m very excited to read it. Great interview!!

  4. Amy T says:

    I cannot wait to read ETERNAL DESIRE!! It sounds so good. Thanks for the writing tip. Its really hard not to give up:(

  5. Alicia says:

    Thanks for the great interview. I have been seeing your book on all the book blogs. It looks really good.

  6. heatherzilla says:

    Sounds like a good read. A Vampyre Ball on Halloween in New Orleans, count me in!

    Please include me in the giveaway.

  7. Roxanne, what a gorgeous cover. And I loved New Orleans too. It’s a great place to hold a Vampyre (love the spelling ) Ball.

    Good luck!

  8. Estella says:

    Have been following the progress of this book on fang-tastic books blog.
    Have put it on my To Buy list and am looking forward to reading it.

  9. Deidre says:

    I’ve been dying to visit New Orleans. I’ve fallen in love with it through books and pictures. It’s one of those places with such a varied history with so many bad things but good as well.

    Deidre

  10. Elie N says:

    Hi Roxanne, I have been following you, great tour so far! Do you have to change gears a lot when writing different things. For example is ED less erotic than some of your other writing?

  11. Linda Henderson says:

    Would love to visit New Orleans through your book. It sounds great.

  12. D Salvagin says:

    I am a recent fan of Roxanne’s work. ETERNAL DESIRE is at the top of my wish list.

  13. Carol L. says:

    Hi Roxanne,
    I love the cover. Look forward to reading Eternal Desire. I love stories set in New Orleans. Thanks for sharing with us. Enjoyed the post.
    Carol L.
    L;ucky4750@aol.com

  14. Lisa B. says:

    Great interview Roxanne.

    You sure keep yourself busy with writing and Fang-tastic books.

    I have to agree, New Orleans is so magical and mystifying. I swear one day I’ll just uproot and impulsively move there (squat in one of the famous cemetaries or something).

    As a fellow new Midnight Showcase author, I can’t tell you again how happy we are to have you joining the ranks! Can’t wait to read your stuff.

  15. Eternal Desire is still full of erotic scenes but a little less than some of my stories that focus more n the sex than the story. I lable Eternal Desire as erotic romance more than erotica.

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by and commented. I am glad you are all following my blog tour.

    Good luck on the prizes.

  16. Roxanne – You have quite the imagination!
    Your books sound great!
    All the best to you!
    🙂
    G.

Leave a Reply

