Father’s Day by Gerri Brousseau

This coming Sunday we celebrate Father’s Day. My father passed away in March of 1980, followed five months later by my mother. They were inseparable. When my dad passed, my mother simply lost the will to live without him. It’s hard to believe that they have been gone for 34 years. Still, I think of them daily. They died young, and when I think back at every event in my life that my parents missed, it makes me sad.

My parents were like my best friends. I had a great relationship with them and they influenced me greatly in my life. My mother grew up during the depression, and my father served in the Navy in WWII. They both worked, my mother was a seamstress who worked in a sewing factory (known as a “sweat shop”), and my father was a toolmaker working in a local factory. Looking back now, I realize we were a middle class family struggling to get by, but growing up, I never realized it. I imagine they had their share of disagreements, but they never argued or spoke an ill word in front of me and I grew up thinking the world was a great and wonderful place. My parents gave me the best gift they could, a stable home full of love, and a positive outlook on life.

They never lived to see their grandson or experience the joy of being grandparents. Every time I visit with my grand-daughter I can’t help but think of my parents and what they missed out on. I miss my parents everyday, but especially on certain days of the year such as their birthdays (Mom’s would have been tomorrow), Thanksgiving, Christmas (especially Christmas), Mother’s Day and Father’s Day.

Sunday while celebrating Father’s Day with my son and his family, I will be thinking about my Dad, who was a wonderful story teller (maybe some of that rubbed off on me) and I will probably have a far away look in my eye and a soft grin upon my lips.

Since I was young when my parents left this world, I often wonder how they feel about me being a multi-published author. I wonder if they are looking lovingly down from heaven at their grand-son and great grand-daughter. I miss them. I vow to take every possible opportunity to tell my son and his family how much I love them and how proud I am of them, and I’m grateful to be around to see my little grand-daughter grow up. I love it when she hugs me and says, “Memé, I love you.” She’s the light of my life and it breaks my heart knowing that my parents missed out.

This Sunday, as you gather together with your loved ones to celebrate the fathers in our midst, take a moment to remember those who no longer sit at our tables, but hold a place for us at our Father’s table in heaven.

I know I speak for everyone of the crew at Nights of Passion when I say Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads out there, and happy writing this week.

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance Author
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Father’s Day by Gerri Brousseau

  1. malanouette says:

    What a wonderful tribute, Gerri. I’m sure they’re smiling down on you.

  2. Thanks, Marian. I miss them with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

