Posted by: malanouette | April 11, 2014

What’s in a name?

Happy Friday everyone. What are you reading this week? I’m reading 25,000 Book of Baby Names. No, LOL, I’m not pregnant. I’m looking for a unique name for a character in my next book. Tomorrow I’m going to head to Barnes & Noble and buy some more books on the subject.

Wow, a thought just struck me. I’m going to run a contest. The prize a signed print copy of Burn in Hell, when it’s released in three or four weeks. Sorry, but the contest is only open to USA and Canadian residents.

naughtyWhat is the contest, you ask?

Submit your suggestions for the female lead in my next book. The character will be similar to the model above. Put on your thinking caps. The contest will run through April 25th. On the 26th I’ll pick and announce the name and the winner in the comment section of this post. Don’t forget to add your email addresses so I can contact you. Or if you prefer your Facebook address and I’ll PM you.

 

Good luck! I can’t wait to discover who she’ll be. If you’re submitting your own name as the character, a release will have to be signed if the name is chosen.

 

Responses

  1. Those baby name lists are great when looking for character names, indeed. There was a marvelous blogger, too, I’d wished had been around when I was first drafting my novels.
    Best wishes with the contest.

    • Jnana, I can get lost in these books. I never realized how many names there to choose from. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. To me she looks like a Tiffany.

    • She does, Gerri. I’ll add that one to my list.

  3. Amber Hathaway.

    • I like it, R. James. Thanks for participating. Next week I’ll pick the winner. Enjoy your weekend.

  4. I got two other names from Facebook entries that couldn’t post here they are:
    Joanne LaPlante entered “Honey Shay” Good one, Joanne.
    Gail Chianese entered: Angelica.
    Thanks for entering. Sorry you had problems.

  5. How about Aubrey or Serina, Miss Marian

    • I like those too, Mick. I think it’s going to come down to a hat draw. :)

  6. More names added:
    Thank you Bertha: Angela or Angel
    Thanks, Roberta: Gillian or Jillian.

  7. Possibly a Sierra or a Lisandra?

    • Interesting names, BC. Into the hat they go! Thanks for participating.

  8. Scarlett

    • Love it, Shelley. Enjoy your visit.

  9. Congratulations, Joanne LaPlante, you won the name the character contest with you entry of Honey Shay.
    Thank you everyone for participating.
    Marian

    • Thank you Marian.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,799 other followers

