Posted by: Toni Kelly | January 30, 2013

Determination to the Tenth Degree

I’ve read a few blogs and comments lately about writers expressing frustration on how they’ve done everything right to attract readers and none of it works. For those of you not familiar with the writing world I’m talking about, I’m referring not only to actually writing the books but to facebook, twitter, blogs, author websites, enrolling with Goodreads and Amazon, attending blog hops and doing everything else a writer must do to get their name out there. Admittedly, it is a lot, especially when all most writers want to do is duck into the writing cave and spend their days there.
My advice to any despairing authors is to stay determined and to stay your course. Promotion these days is absolutely necessary as there is so much out there to detract from anything you want to say or do. Whatever you are doing, there are others doing that and much more. Still, if you stay consistent and determined to make it, it will pay off. Most importantly, don’t forget to start yourself on that next book as nothing is more important that more for your readers to read.
Now, I have to say that I don’t have a whole lot of experience overall in the writing industry. I contracted and published a novella, Irish Dreams and I contracted and will publish later this year my first novel, Blood Eternal. Still, much of what I encourage and say is purely based on my belief that it is necessary if you want to make writing a larger part of your life. Perhaps I’ll write a follow up blog next year letting you know if any of my determination and planning paid off. Still, I can believe giving up to be the answer. Moral of the story: while it’s in you to write, do it. Be determined and you will achieve.
Happy Writing to you all!

Responses

  1. You are so right. When my debut released a few days earlier than expected, I was at the inlaws with sucky wifi and sick in bed. I’m still trying to play catch up and it released on December 26th. *sigh*

    I don’t want to come across as a Promo Wo, so its a fine line that author’s walk when it comes to social media.

    Great post!

    Marika Weber w/a Harlie Williams

  2. [...] Determination to the Tenth Degree. [...]

  3. You’re so right, Toni. Marketing and connecting with people takes time. I look at it as an adventure into meeting new and interesting people (other authors and readers alike.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,796 other followers

