Posted by: C. Margery Kempe | October 14, 2012

Reading at Albacon: Oct 18-21

by C. Margery Kempe

Our fearless leader, Susan Hanniford Crowley, and I will be heading to Albacon this week. We’ll be taking part in a lot of panels about writing and reading, trends in speculative fiction and the overlaps with romance.

And then there’s be the sexy midnight reading, too! I love doing readings. I don’t get to do them often enough. There’s just something wonderful about having an immediate reaction to your words. So often we just type away and hear the words in our head and wonder how people will react. People might buy our books and we never hear another peep.

So we beg you to leave reviews and ratings in hope of finding out. :-)

The truth is a lot of writing is on faith: faith that you’ll find a publisher, that you’ll find an audience, that it will sound as good in their heads as it does in your own. More often than not, we’ll never know. That’s just part of the game.

And the bigger truth is that we’d do it anyway. There’s a weird gene that makes a writer; all artists are strange I suppose (and I do believe we are all artists, though many people don’t ever use the magic they have inside). But writing is a peculiar art. You can sing a song and get a reaction; you can hang a picture and people will respond to it. I suppose you could hand out novels on a street corner, but it would still take people time to read them.

If you’re in the eastern upstate NY area, drop by Albacon. You’ll find plenty to amuse and inform you. If you see me, say hello. Most writers are kind of quiet, so you may have to start the conversation. I know people have sometimes interpreted my quiet as aloofness; I’m just not good at starting conversations. If you’re also the retiring kind of person, a good way to start a conversation is to bring up something said at a panel (whether I said it or someone else). I tend to use questions to get other people talking.

And for those of you who miss my travel photos, here’s one of the beautiful places I stay now that I’ve gone back to my gypsy ways. Beautiful, ain’t it?

Responses

  1. Have fun you two. Love the picture. Of course, we expect to see pictures of the ongoings at the convention.

  2. Reblogged this on C. Margery Kempe and commented:

    See you there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,796 other followers

