So You’re a Published Author… by Marian Lanouette

 

What I’m reading this week?

Delusion in Death by JD Robb (Nora Roberts)

What are you reading?

Haven’t you strived for years to become a published author? Or known someone who has? I know I have and the rewards are indescribable. The joy of seeing your name on Amazon is like the first dip on the roller coaster. Oh no, there goes my stomach.

But, where are the parades, the parties, the calls for appearances?

The other morning I came to the breakfast table in my tiara, gown and ‘come love me’ heels. And nothing. No one bowed. No one applauded. It was, “pass the milk, honey.” Life went on as usual. Didn’t they understand what I had accomplished? Even in the grocery stores no one asked for my autograph.

I’m joking of course, but is this what you thought being published was about? For me it wasn’t any of the above. I have a wonderful support system. After all their accolades my head does swell a little. I have to remind myself, you’re still you. Instead of accounting for a living, I’m now a writer. Oh boy, I love saying that.

To achieve my dream this late in life really delivers a punch. I can’t tell you how upset my stomach was on September 7th when my book was release. The doubt monster did a number. Will they like? Will they hate it? Am I really a writer? Should I discard the dream? And on and on it went.

The next day, the reviews and phone calls started. They loved me. They actually loved me. Thank my stars in haven, I don’t have to leave town or bury my head in the sand. They loved me or better yet, they loved the book and were looking for the next one. The greatest praise an author will ever receive. They want more.

My question to you if you are published, what did you expect with your first release? If you’re not published yet, what do you anticipate on your release date?

Mine was everything I dreamed and more!

Bio:

Marian, author of If I Fail, A Jake Carrington Mystery, is working on the next book in the series, Burn in Hell, A Jake Carrington Mystery. It will be released in January 2013. Her love of reading was passed down from  her parents. Who were both avid readers. When she’s not writing you can find her reading anything and everything she can get her hands on.

Contact her at: http://www.marianl.com  http://marian-l.blogspot.comhttps://twitter.com/AuthorMarian  http://www.facebook.com/marian.lanouette?ref=tn_tnmn

Author page at Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/marianlanouette

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15850117-if-i-fail-a-jake-carrington-mystery

Buy links:

Amazon:
MuseItUp Publishing:

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance Author
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to So You’re a Published Author… by Marian Lanouette

  1. MonaKarel says:

    That’s a fabulous author photo. Sexy and successful.
    My first book came out on Kindle the day my husband went into the hospital with what turned out to be pancreatic cancer. So the thrill was kind of muted and it’s taking a while to get myself back up to a high spot. Writing has always been one of the major passions of my life and being able to share it with total strangers is a great feeling indeed. I loved the excerpt I’ve read of Jake Carrington, but I don’t dare download it until after I’ve gotten commitments out of my way or I’ll be even MORE behind. Congratulations!

  2. Hi, Marian,

    I never expected a fanfare. For one thing, since I write erotica, I knew I couldn’t tell many people about my book.

    Still, it was my own thrilling little secret.

    Congratulations on YOUR first book!

  3. PJ Sharon says:

    I’m so happy for you, Marian. The last I saw you at the CTRWA mtg. you were beaming! I’m afraid I go through those stressful moments of doubt with every new release (biting my nails this week trying to do last minute touch ups on Waning Moon). I’m thrilled that my books have been well received and it is very exciting to call myself a published author, but I have to say, either that reality hasn’t quite sunk in, even after a year, or I’ve quickly come to the conclusion that it’s just another job. Readers will either love your books or not, no one will recognize your accomplishments the way your loving family and friends do, and the popularity of your books will likely last as long as you are promoting them. It’s challenging to find an audience and keep the momentum going as a new author. It takes time, patience, and a lot of hard work. Lots of ups and downs in this business. Enjoy the roller coaster ride and hang onto your tiara…it’s going to be a bumpy ride:-)

    • Thanks, PJ. And for all your help on social media. You know I love your books and I’m anxiously awaiting Wannin Moon. Good luck with it. Don’t worry, I got my tiara pinned on. :)

  4. Seeing one of my dreams become a reality when my first book was published gave me a rush I’m still feeling. Seeing my cover for the first time, seeing my name on Amazon, getting my first review – WOW. My life is busier than it has ever been, promoting, editing the next release and writing all at the same time, and I’m loving it. But the best thing of all was the support my family gave me. Not only did they cheer me on with words of encouragement, they got involved with the whole process. I’ll always be wife, mother and grandmother to them. But now I’m an author as well.

    • I agree, Susan. Without our families support this wouldn’t be a reality. My husband supported me fullly, my sister made sure I had great photos and the rest of my brothers and sisters (and there are many LOL) offered moral support. I don’t think my feet have touched the ground since last week.

Leave a Reply

