Posted by: C. Margery Kempe | September 14, 2012

Friday Dance Party

by C. Margery Kempe

I’m not usually on Fridays, but I’ve traded days with Marian, who’ll be up on Sunday. So I thought I would try something a little bit fun and put up some grooving tunes to see what kind of dance party we could get swinging. Or find out just how much our tastes differ. And they always do. I’ve been borrowing my brother’s car to drive up to Albany to teach (part of my gypsy life at present) and while I have enjoyed the cool jazz he has in the car — timeless classics like Nina Simone, Mel Tormé, Chet Baker and a little Shirley Bassey — the only upbeat music, for driving back down while tired is Abba’s Greatest Hits.

Don’t get me wrong. I groove the Abba. Although now “I Believe in Angels” always makes me think of Ghostbusters (“I cross the streams” I think they sing) and Fernando always makes me think of Bea Arthur and Dewey which makes me really happy. But it’s the only dancy sort of music.

Well, there are the boy band CDs but I’m not touching those. o_O

So here’s some of my no-fail-must-dance tunes. What are yours?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Almost stepped on your toes here, sorry. Great post

    • Hee! No worries. It’s funny when an idea just pops up and you can run with it.

    • And even better when you log in to the right account! D’oh!

  2. I’m going to have to give a real reply when I get home, since this is the sort of thing that makes me need to get up and move around. Excellent topic, though (And I love that Shonen Knife is on your list. Good times.)

    • Love Shonen Knife! Can’t wait to see what you add. :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,793 other followers

