Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | September 8, 2012

A New Cycle: Hospital and Highlands

A new cycle in my life has begun.  My writing has taken on new life.  Is it paranormal?  Of course.  You know me.  Right now, everything is under wraps.  Then the mad rush begins again.

I spent the day in the hospital with my husband.  He was in for a battery of tests and fortunately since we live far away, they were able to schedule most of the tests in one day.  Where does that leave us?  Really exhausted by the time we get home.  Still during the day, I learned lots of things about people just be observing.  As we walked down endless corridors from test to test, some of the corridors viewed a lower rooftop that was transformed into a type of Zen garden–very peaceful.  Another corridor featured little glass display podiums that contained unique plates–more art than dishes.  Again very peaceful and restful to the eye and mind.  We ate an early supper there in one of the many cafeterias.  One thing about his particular hospital is that their food is great.  The Reuben sandwich I had was delicious.

This is also a huge teaching hospital.  I watched all the different people walking with purpose and I tried to imagine each mission.  There was even a guide giving a tour to the new employees.  She had paused in the cafeteria’s courtyard like dining area graced by a spherical fountain.  As she talked to her group, hundreds of staff walked this way and that on their individual missions.

As hospitals go, this one has made the herculean effort to create moments of peace and beauty in their environment.   I really appreciated that and although we were only there for my husband’s tests, it made being there less stressful.

When I got home and collapsed on the sofa, I reached for Victoria magazine.  If you’re unfamiliar with this magazine, let me tell you why it’s my favorite.  Victoria magazine is about all things of a Victorian style that we could use today.  It expounds on beautiful clothes, recipes, antiques and travels to elegantly quaint places.  They look at stores that sell lace and other beautiful items, country inns that serve tea, and cities that preserve their traditions while being modern.  I flipped through the pages and after seeing Edinburgh stopped.  I fell in love with Scotland the first moment I stepped off the plane.

I visited the grandeur of Edinburgh Castle or walked among the heather in the highlands, and I felt at home.  My body did one of those big sigh things where you know you can relax here.   When I sleep in Scotland, I always hear bagpipes in my dreams.  I’ve been to a lot of places in Scotland but not everywhere, so I’ll have to go back.

This is Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness.  Yes, I’ve been there too.  Truthfully, I hope they never find Nessie beneath the blue waters of the loch.  I’m all for preserving the privacy of the monster.  Some people think there are several now.

Peace is a gift the monster deserves.  Notice how it only shows up for blurry photos.  LOL

Peace and serenity are gifts people in the hospital deserve.  All of them whether they are sick and sad and scared in a hospital bed or working there.  They all deserve a bit of peace and serenity in their lives.

A big THANK YOU goes out to the fine folks at Victoria magazine. (Visit their website at http://www.victoriamag.com/ )   When I read your magazine especially the Sept./Oct. issue I am reminded of my trips to Scotland, and for a time, aches ease away and the grand hearty food of Scotland fills my memories as well as the people and scenes.   For a little while, I even hear bag pipes.   I can’t wait to see where you go and what you discover for the Nov./Dec. issue.

So a new cycle has started in my life.  If you’re going through something similar, I wish you joy and peace and serenity.

–Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley
http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Susan,
    I’m sorry you are going through health issues and also with those of your husband and your father. You are the strength they draw from. As I read your article, I felt peaceful when you spoke of Scotland. I hope to have the opportunity to visit there one day, and tonight, I hope I too hear bag pipes in my dreams.

  2. Susan, we share a longing and fondness for Scotland, although I’d never been there. I have a character who was born there, so the most recent Victoria magazine was especially important in order to sense the place. I yearn not for Scotland’s peace, though, but for its rumbling, tumultuous shores …

    Re Victoria magazine–I was a subscriber since its beginning. At one point they actually considered doing an article with me in Budapest. Then their budget cut cut, eventually they went out of business. Now they’re back, and I’m so glad. Now, reading that magazine is, truly, an escape into bliss.

    I’m glad your visit to the hospital was made more gentle, and hope all turns out well for you and your husband.

    -ZZ

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the tests and all for your husband. Best wishes for a speedy solution to his worries. I can’t wait to be back in Scotland. Sigh. Counting the days.

  4. Sorry to hear about all your health troubles. I’ll say a little prayer for all of you.

  5. Thank you.
    -Susan

  6. You know, you’re the second blogger I’ve read who has mentioned Nessie. Here is the other one…http://maeclair.net/2012/09/10/mae-clairs-mythical-monday-the-benevolent-giant-of-loch-ness/


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,755 other followers

