The Life of Author Tracy Meyer by Gerri Brousseau

When I started writing Wren’s Fantasy over a year ago, I did so whilst flipping pancakes, driving carpool and folding underwear. Meaning, I did so in the midst of life whirling all around me. I felt like a clown juggling a handful of bowling pins. But they weren’t plastic, hardy bowling pins. They were glass. Fragile. Breakable. And if one fell, if I dropped just one, well, the whole entire act would come crumbling down.

Most of us just don’t sit down and write. We have other jobs. We’re parents, spouses, partners, friends. We wear the proverbial hat to many people. But writing takes a lot of energy – mental energy. What do we do, though, when our energy reserves are depleted? Gone? Taken the first, and only, train to Timbuktu?

Below are a few all-natural, time-proven ways to wake up your brain so you can get the story out of your head and onto the paper. None of these examples are earth-shattering, or even something you didn’t know. But here they are put together in one place, as a gentle reminder of what we can do to help increase our mental acuity.

  • Caffeine. Duh. Who doesn’t drink caffeine? According to www.livestrong.com, over 90% of Americans consume caffeine daily. Sure. I do. But don’t overdo it or you run the risk of throwing your brain into overdrive and you won’t get anything done because your thoughts are zooming faster than your hands.
  • Fruit. These simple sugars give an almost immediate boost of energy.
  • Whole Grains. These give a slower, but sustained, boost.
  • Bee Pollen. This is said to improve metabolic rates. One pill in the morning can increase energy all day.
  • Ginseng. Fights fatigue.
  • Exercise. I don’t mean throwing on the John McEnroe headband and doing sprints up the hill outside of your house. Gentle stretching, knee-lifts, a brisk walk. Anything that gets your blood flowing to your brain helps wake that bad-boy up.

Do I need to say here that we aren’t supposed to do anything without a doctor’s approval? I think we all know that, don’t we?

And if you find, in the midst of your chaotic lives, that you not only need to wake up your creative mind, but your libido, try these foods, courtesy, again, of www.livestrong.com.

  • Avocado
  • Bananas
  • Almonds
  • Soy
  • Asparagus

If anyone would like to read the results of these brain-awakening suggestions, I’m giving away a copy of Wren’s Fantasy. I used all of them (wink wink) at one point or another!

I’d like to thank Nights of Passion for allowing me to guest blog and to Gerri Brousseau for being such a supportive comrade-in-writing.

Cheers! Tracy

You are quite welcome, Tracy. We enjoyed having you share a bit about your journey. But, readers … Tracy isn’t finished yet. As she mentioned, she’s going to giveaway one free e-book to one lucky reader. In order to qualify to win one free e-book copy of Wren’s Fantasy, please leave a comment. One luck winner will be randomly drawn. I hope you all enter and best of luck to everyone.

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance Author
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Life of Author Tracy Meyer by Gerri Brousseau

  1. Interesting post Tracy. It’s amazing if you stop and think how the food we consume and put into our bodies affect not just how we feel physically but our mental output as well. The bee pollen was one I had never heard of.

  2. #1kid says:

    Asparagus! Who knew?! (I may put that on the menu every night!) ;)

    Welcome Tracy! And thank you Gerri for hosting Tracy today.

    Tracy, these were great tips. I completely get the clown image. More times than not, I feel like a clown, for sure — and wonder if everyone around me sees me as a clown, too. ;)

  3. Cynthia Gail says:

    Great information Tracy. I’ve never heard of Bee Pollen but I just recently realized that i love grilled asparagus – had no idea of it’s benefits. i think I’ll find my way to the grocery store today. Thanks!

  4. I wonder if bee pollen will help with my allergies. Thanks for sharing with us Tracy.

  5. jannashay says:

    Great post and terrific information. I knew that ginseng helped mental acuity, but I also heard that it’s good for the libido as well. I don’t know if that’s true, but it would be great if it was.
    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Brenda says:

    I forget all about ginseng; thanks for the reminder~

  7. Gerri Bowen says:

    Sometimes stepping outside and pulling a few weeds gets things going in my brain, Tracy.

Leave a Reply

