Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | August 31, 2012

Meet Jake Carrington by Marian Lanouette

What I’m reading this week. Shattered Star by Kimberly K. Fox.

Today I’m introducing Jake to the world. Please leave a comment and make him feel welcome.

Personality:  A pleasant, likeable man with an easy smile, it isn’t until you look into his eyes that you see the cop. He’s honest. Works ridiculous hours to solve a case, and has put away a few dirty cops in his time on the force. His love of the outdoors shows on his face. In his off-hours you can catch him boating, snowboarding, skiing and hiking. He’s a well-built ruggedly, athletic, handsome man.

Age:        31
Height:     6’1″
Weight:     175 lbs.
Birthplace: Wilkesbury, Connecticut
Eye color:  Bottle Green
Hair color: Reddish Brown
Occupation: Homicide Lieutenant
Wealth:     Very comfortable, from investments and an inheritance.
History:    Chose his career after a tragedy in his teens.
Siblings:   A sister who was raped and murdered at the age of fifteen. His guilt over Eva’s death has never left Jake.
Inspiration: His father who was a Captain in the Wilkesbury Police Department.
Birthdate:   April 23rd
Skills:      Marksman, puzzles, persistent
Fears:       When a case can’t be solved.
Dreams:     He would love to have what his friend and partner Louie Romanelli has, but can’t see how he can manage career and family.
Dislikes:    Can’t stand pushy women or possessive women. They make him run for the hills.
Food: Pizza, burgers, fish and steak. Loves Sophia Romanelli’s cooking
Offspring:   None
Background:  1st generation Irish-American.

At sixteen, a bright future lay before Jake Carrington. As a star athlete for his high school, he was courted by all the top colleges in the country. The toughest decision Jake needed to make before he chose a college was which sport he wanted to play. He excelled at both baseball and football. Baseball held his heart, but the football scholarships offered were located in better climates.

As captain in the Wilkesbury Police Department his dad garnered respect, but he wanted more for his children, and in Jake’s case he hoped to see his son play pro-ball. All these dreams came crashing down around Jake in the summer of his senior year.

Jake’s sister Eva was brutally raped and murder in the summer by one of Jake’s classmates. Eva and he were close. Never in his young life had he felt such pain. Until that day, Jake didn’t know or understand evil. After accompanying his father to the morgue to identify Eva’s body, Jake swore he would do whatever it took to make sure no one else ever felt the agony he and his family were going through.  It was on that day he decided to become a cop. The guilt never left his mind or his heart. Deep down he felt he caused her death. She had asked for a ride that day. He had refused because he was on his way to his girlfriend’s house. Five minutes. He felt she died because he was too selfish to go five minutes out of his way. Though they were difficult years, He got through them with the help of his friend and now partner Louie Romanelli.

Since Eva’s death Jake had one goal: to be the best homicide detective he could be. His romantic life only consists of casual dates. His job always comes first. That was until Mia Andrews came along.

Recently promoted to lieutenant of the homicide division, he along with Louie try to beat back the frustration as a brutal case involving rape and murder grows cold. This one has hit too close to home for Jake. To make matters worse, he dated the victim’s sister, Chloe Wagner a few times, until she became bossy and possessive. Now she’s stalking Jake and Mia. He and Louie continue to investigate the murder when new evidence turns up; and to Jake’s horror, the evidence points to Chloe Wagner. Did he miss this important evidence the first time around because he was initially attracted to Chloe? Or was someone taunting both him and Chloe?

Link to book trailer

http://youtu.be/DnmqRl-J0co

Responses

  1. Hi Marian – Can’t wait to read If I Fail. If only Jake was closer to my age – you could introduce us! LOL.

    • I thought the same thing, Kathy. I’m in love with him, but don’t tell Alan. LOL.

  2. Really looking forward to your book, Marian!

    • Thank you, Jennifer. I’m getting anxious.

  3. My first thoughts when reading this description were … hmm, wonder if he’s single. My second thought was … wonder if he likes older women … then I read about Mia … oh well. Sounds wonderful, Marion. I can’t wait to meet him and read his story. Why don’t you tell us when and where it will be available.

  4. Can’t wait to meet Jake!

    • Thanks, Toni. I don’t know if I can contain the excitement!

  5. he is delicious!

    • Music to my ears, Mary. Thank you!

  6. Hi Marian and Jake! I feel privileged to already know Jake on a more intimate basis than those who are discovering him for the first time. He’s a real stand up guy, and I enjoyed getting this even more intimate glance into his make up.

    Jake, feel free to come over and hang with me any time! With or without a date!

    What I’m reading this week: Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelsson

    Lovely way to introduce Jake, Marian! He’s going to do well, I feel it!

    • Thank you, Julie. And for those of you who don’t know Julie is my awesome editor! I just added the link to the trailer.

  7. Wow, Marian, that is one awesome trailer! Great job! I love it! I need to take tips from you when I go to make my own!

    • Let me know, Julie. I’ll give you Rachel’s info. She was very reasonable

  8. So Jake doesn’t like pushy women. Well that leaves me out. Tee Hee! Loved the tease and I like the bio.

    • Thanks so my, Mary. It rules me out too! lol.

  9. Mary, my fingers are not working as fast as my mind. That’s thanks so much for visiting.

  10. Sigh… I think I have just joined the long line of adoring Jake fans. Ruggedly built, athletic, handsome. But when I pictured the bottle green eyes along with the easy smile… sold, sign me up. I am officially a Jake Carrington groupie.

    Congratulations and all the best.
    H K

    • Thank you, HK. I love him too! Especially the eyes…

  11. This book keeps intriguing me. And I love the cover and trailer. Congratulations and wishing you a great release day. :-)

  12. The story sounds riveting!
    The cover…well, can you tell me where this guy is?
    I just put on my list

    • Thank you so much, Bobby. I hope you enjoy it.

  13. I watched the book trailer and clicked myself here to find out more about the main character of your new book. Now I can’t wait to get my own copy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,793 other followers

