Words of Love or Who Has the Best Line

When a guy tries his line on a gal, it can be an overwhelming dud or it can win her heart.  Not every man is good with words.  Not every man can express what he feels in his heart.  But don’t you wish they could.  Here’s a look of some of the most romantic words said from very romantic movies.

“Have you never met a woman who inspires you to love? Until your every sense is filled with her? You inhale her. You taste her. You see your unborn children in her eyes and know that your heart has at last found a home. Your life begins with her, and without her it must surely end.”– Johnny Depp portraying “Don Juan DeMarco”

Oooh, shivers all over. The first time I saw that movie I cried.  And every time since, if it happened to be on, I stop everything just to watch it.

“Death cannot stop true love. All it can do is delay it for a while.” –from Wesley also known as the Dread Pirate Roberts in “The Princess Bride”  I sighed when he said it.  We all deeply want to believe in love like that.

“If I could ask God one thing, it would be to stop the moon. Stop the moon and make this night and your beauty last forever.”  In A Knight’s Tale, Sir Ulrich (actually poor squire William Thatcher) says this to the Lady Jocelyn.  The young man striving to win his lady’s heart was played by Heath Ledger.

Other people like to remember Heath in “Batman”, but I prefer remembering him as the thatcher’s son who fought to rise above his station and win the lady of his dreams.   Sigh!

“You should be kissed, and often, and by someone who knows how.” This was said by Rhett Butler to Miss Scarlet in “Gone with the Wind,” and isn’t it the truth.  LOL

Okay, now every love can’t be perfect.

“I have crossed oceans of time to find you.”  This is from Dracula and is said by the Count to Mina (Jonathan Harker’s fiancee).  Doesn’t bode well for Jonathan, now does it?  The Count is a man of many deeply felt words among other fangs, I mean things.

“Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”  That’s the famous line from “Love Story.”  Sorry.  I didn’t believe it when I burst out laughing in the theater at the age of 16, and I don’t buy it now.  I know other people think it great.  I’m glad that it works for you.  For me, love is having to say you’re sorry fairly often.  Let’s move on.

“Winning that ticket, Rose, was the best thing that ever happened to me…it brought me to you…You must do me this honor, Rose.  Promise me you’ll survive. That you won’t give up, no matter what happens, no matter how hopeless.  Promise me now, Rose, and never let go of that promise.”  Jack says this to Rose in “Titanic.”
Wow.  Amazingly romantic and tragic at the same time, these words express an enduring love that defeats death.  I cried.  Did you?

I could go on and there are many others I could include.  Please, feel free to add them to the comment box.  I’d love to hear your choices.  I have to end with this one though.  When I saw it, the entire movie held me breathless.

“When love feels like magic, you call it destiny.  When destiny has a sense of humor, you call it serendipity.”


–Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley
http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance Author
This entry was posted in Emotions, historical romance, Horror Stories, knights, paranormal, romance, romance novels, Susan Hanniford Crowley, vampires, What are you watching?, What inspires you? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Words of Love or Who Has the Best Line

  1. ”Simandy, you still turn me on from across the street!”

    My lover, to me, after thirty years. Nice.

  2. Don Juan de Marco is my favorite role of Johnny Depp. That movie made me fall in love with him ~sigh~ Actually, I watched it last night. I totally love that movie. Let me see now … the most romantic thing any man ever said to me was “Having you here feels like God sliced off a little bit of heaven and set it here on earth just for me.” WOW huh? Nice … I may have to use that line in one of my upcoming novels ….

  3. I agree with you, Susan. When you love someone you say I’m sorry when you’re wrong. I thought that was the dumbest line ever. My favorite. Lying in the bed after heart surgery when I said, OMG I have no make-up on, I don’t want visitors. My Guy said, “You’re as beautiful as the day I met you and I keep telling you, you don’t need make-up.” He’s a keeper

  4. Don Juan DeMarco. ::sigh:: I never looked at my hand the same way after that movie. There have been all sorts of movie quotes that have touched me over the years, but they don’t get to me the way that song lyrics do.

  5. Susan Hanniford Crowley says:

    Smiles.
    –Susan

Leave a Reply

