Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | August 24, 2012

Writing and Marketing Go Hand in Hand by Marian Lanouette

What I’m reading this week:  A Pirate’s Ransom. I have to tell you I’m almost finished reading it; and I’m so, loving it. Page one grabbed me and hasn’t let go. Don’t forget to post below what you’re reading this week.

I’d like to talk about the business of writing. After you’ve gone through your creative process, polished your manuscript to be the best product it can be it’s ready for release. Did you think your work stopped there? Any author who has released a book, whether they are traditional published or self-published knows their work has just begun.

The most important aspect after your contract, when your book hits the shelves is your marketing effort. Without marketing, there are no sales. But I’m a writer, not a marketer. Does that sound familiar? Isn’t marketing my publisher’s job? Capital N O.

Though your publisher will market you, nobody can market you and your book better than you can. This is the product of your heart and mind, who better to shouts its merits, than you.

My debut novel releases in fifteen days. Boy, do I love saying that. It is an exciting time, but recently I have spent most of my days marketing and not writing. And I have to say, it’s frustrating, fun and time consuming. Frustrating because I’m learning as I go; fun because I’m meeting so many great people who are sharing in my excitement and are willing to help when they can. And time consuming, is an understatement. There are blogs to write, Facebook (FB)posting to create,  FB parties to plan, Twitter tweetings to be done and press releases to create. Are you tired yet?

Type A personalities like me find this exuberating! No, really. In the marketing process, I’ve met other authors who are sharing their blogs, reviews and their time to help out a newbie. Always remember, what you put out there in the universe always comes back to you.  Where have I met all these great authors, readers and marketers? I’ve met them when I joined professional writing groups; when I attended seminars, conferences, classes, or my various writers’ loops.  I went out of my way to look up authors I’ve read and enjoyed. I visited their websites and blogs to learn how they presented their books and workshops. It was extremely educational.

I hope you’ve gained some insight into the marketing of your book though I haven’t even scratched the surface. It’s important to know as a writer your job is never finished. There is always a reader out there who hasn’t read your book, yet. Every new person you meet is a potential reader. Leave them wanting more!

 

www.marianl.com

www.marian-l.blogspot.com

@AuthorMarian

http://www.facebook.com/#!/marian.lanouette

Responses

  1. Nicely said, Marian. Writing is a business, and not one that is open 9-5! I think I work harder now than I ever did, but the difference is I love what I’m doing. I think I read somewhere that when you love what you are doing it’s no longer a job, it’s a career. BTW-thanks for the shout out for Pirates. I’m so thrilled that you are enjoying it so much.

    • You’re welcome, Gerri. I finished it last night and I’ll be shouting it phrase later on today. I’m having Yahoo issues. And yes I agree, when you love what you’re doing it is no longer work but a labor of love.

  2. You know, I’ve done the traditional job and am just now starting to get back into writing. I’ve been doing many of the things you mentioned, and although, as the other commenter posted, this isn’t a 9-5 gig, she’s also right in that everything you put into your business is different when it’s a labor of love. Congrats on your upcoming debut.

    • Thank you so much, Kitt, and good luck with your writing. I am loving everything that goes along with getting my book out there.

  3. Good morning, Marian! First – what I’m reading. I’m about halfway through Paradise Lost, and also reading One Piece, Volume 7.

    Times have certainly changed from when selling a novel meant the author could rest on his or her laurels. Now, the work has only begun at that point. Publishers do not do what they used to, by any means, makes one wonder why they make the big bucks for doing less work. Guess I’ll save that rant.

    On the other hand, being published is easier than ever, not even counting self-publication. But with that newfound publication comes a lot of work – networking, sharing, posting, blogging, and putting yourself and your work out there at every opportunity. Is it worth it? Of course. But I still dream of the day when a publicist will handle that aspect of my career and allow me to focus more on what brought it about in the first place – my writing!

    Good blog, thoughtful!

    • Thanks, Julie. I agree. But I know several NYT and USA Today bestselling authors and they also work very hard marketing their books along with their big six publishers. In the end, it is our name on it. So CHARGE ahead and market that baby.

  4. Greetings, Marian,

    First let me add my congratulations to you on your upcoming release! You must be finding it hard to sit still and concentrate on more mundane issues.

    Second – regarding marketing – quite a few authors whine about how they hate marketing, and I get that, I really do…but if you don’t market in some way, nobody’s going to know that your fabulous book exists. One thing I tell new authors: find marketing methods that work for YOU personally. You don’t have to do everything. You can’t! So experiment until you find marketing channels that you enjoy (more or less) and that fit in with your life, available time and personality.

    Finally – I’m currently reading “Death of a Red Heroine” by Qui Xioalong, “The Dilbert Principle” (by Scott Adams) and “Bound by Lust” edited by Shanna Germain. Talk about variety!

  5. Lisabeth, thank you for the great advice. And yes, I’m counting down the days. I love your reading list and have added those authors to mine. Once again, thanks for stopping by and for the encouragement.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,755 other followers

