Meet Author Gerri Brousseau

Nights of Passion is ecstatic about Gerri Brousseau’s debut novel. Many of you know Gerri from the pages of Nights of Passion and also Nights of Passion-YA. I’d like to say what you don’t know is that she’s a wild woman—oops, you know that too from her blog on sky diving. Okay, what don’t you know? Her first book, A Pirate’s Ransom, which is a delicious read, is being published by Soul Mate Publishing.

Gerri, surprise us, and share something about yourself that we don’t know.

Gerri: First of all, I would like to take a moment to thank you, Susan, for doing this interview. My life is pretty much an open book (pun totally intended) so there isn’t much to tell. Beside the release of my debut novel, which I must say is totally exciting, the newest and most exciting thing in my life right now is my new granddaughter. Yes, the wild woman has traded in her thrill seeker cap for one that says “Grandma” on it, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

What books influenced the wild woman romance author early on?

Gerri: The very first romance novel I ever read was “The Flame and the Flower” by the late, great Kathleen Woodiwiss. I was hooked on the genre ever since. I love adventure and romance, however, the romantic hero who has captured my heart will always be Mister Darcy. (~sigh~)

What inspired you to write A Pirate’s Ransom?

Gerri: I would love to tell you it was Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow, and maybe in part it was. I have always loved pirates and the idea and romance of being swept away by a handsome rogue. I wanted to see if I could write a pirate romance. I thought my pirate captain would have to be fiercely handsome, when suddenly, his name popped into my mind and Captain Edmund Drake was born. I knew instantly I had to tell the story that was already weaving its way into my mind. I must admit, every time I read it and re-read it in the editing process, I fell more in love with that scoundrel, Captain Drake.

What is the book about?

Gerri: The book is the story of Lady Catherine’s journey to London. A journey she didn’t want to make. Well … maybe you would like to take a look at the little book trailer I put together.  Here’s the link … http://youtu.be/3uh_AgiaXqo.

Tell us about the hero. If you could describe him as something edible what would it be?

Gerri:  Hmm…just the thought of my pirate captain as something edible makes me … oh, sorry about that, I was having an, er … moment. Ah, well, let me see … He would have to be some decadent dessert with chocolate, whipped cream and cherries. Yes, oh yes, I can imagine Edmund Drake and whipped cream … but, for more details, you’ll have to read the book.

Please, just give our readers a little taste!

Every man upon the deck froze, then looked in their Captain’s direction. The Captain turned back to face me, although with the sun in my eyes, I still could not make out his features.

“A request, Milady?” he asked with a hint of amusement in his voice.

“Yes, if you please, Sir, kindly permit me to have my maid, Mary, accompany me, for propriety’s sake,” I said in a strong clear voice, resounding with a courage I certainly didn’t feel.

He laughed and said, “Are there any others among you who wish to accompany the Countess?”

Silence filled the air, and I chanced a glance at my father, who cast his eyes downward and said not a word. Coward.

“I am certain there is at least one among you who would be competent enough to deliver a message to the Duke of Devonshire. Kindly advise His Grace that if he wishes to ever see his lovely bride again, he shall pay a pirate’s ransom,” the pirate lord’s powerful voice commanded.

“Begging your pardon, Sir,” Smith muttered, taking a tentative step toward the pirate lord, “but do ye mind telling us wot amount a coin a pirate’s ransom be?”

“Ah, Smith, there you are. You have been most helpful in assisting me here today, and your reward awaits you aboard The Lady. As for His Grace, Wentworth Simmons is quite aware of what my ransom demands are. Now, Countess, would you care to extend an invitation to any others to accompany you before we depart?”

My mouth dropped open as I watched the wiry Mister Smith, my betrayer, scamper across the plank and onto the huge pirate ship. Snapping my jaw closed, I allowed my eyes to sweep the remainder of the crew and I dared a glance once again at my father, whose gaze met mine briefly. But in that scant moment, I recognized his silent plea, begging me not to name him.

Realizing the pirate lord awaited my reply, I uttered a soft, “No, Sir. Just my maid, if you would be so kind.”

“Very well, Milady, as you wish.” Without another word, he strode off, his large frame disappearing into the setting sun.

***

When is it coming out? How can we pre-order it?

Gerri: The book is available now through Soul Mate Publishing and will be available in a few days through Barnes and Noble and Amazon for Nook and Kindle. It will be out in print in a few months.

Right now it is available at http://www.soulmatepublishing.com/a-pirates-ransom/  I believe by the weekend you should be able to get it on Nook or Kindle.

Do you have more books in the works?

Gerri:  As a matter of fact, I have a second novel entitled, “According to Legend” which will be released by Soul Mate Publishing in November 2012. This is a story of a young woman who comes into possession of an enchanted dream catcher which through her dreams draws her back in time, and into the arms of the Warrior Chief. This book is an adventure romance. There is a prophecy, a quest, and danger around every corner. And if that’s not enough, a love triangle that spans through time.

Do you have a surprise for our readers?

Gerri:  Actually, I have two surprises! Today, I will give away an e-book copy of “A Pirate’s Ransom” to one luck reader. All you need to do is post a comment.  What’s the catch, you ask? Well, you must make your comment in your best “pirate speak” of course. This contest will close at midnight tonight (EST) and valid worldwide. The second surprise is that I’m having a little contest on my website. Please be sure to visit at www.gerribrousseau.com and enter my “Claim the Ransom” contest where one lucky winner will sail away with all the booty! This contest runs until midnight on December 31, 2012 (EST) and is also open worldwide.

Thank you, Gerri, for being a great part of Nights of Passion, and we wish you great success with your new book and the others coming behind it. We can’t wait!

Gerri:  Thanks again, Susan, for inviting me to share with your readers today. I hope they all enjoy reading A Pirate’s Ransom as much as I enjoyed writing it. Best of luck to all who enter the contest and please don’t forget – use your best “pirate speak.”

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance Author
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet Author Gerri Brousseau

  1. Ahoy Matey!
    I”m so happy to hear that your tale will be available on kindle by this weekend. Can’t wait to read! The excerpts were an irrisistable tease

  2. I can’t put the book down, I have only a hundred pages left–can’t wait to get into my chair and finish it tonight. Good luck, Gerri with you book. You’ve got a winner!

  3. Thanks Marian. I’m thrilled you are enjoying it so much.

Leave a Reply

