Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | August 9, 2012

What is The Undead Space Initiative by Gerri Brousseau

Nights of Passion is excited to have author, Casey Wyatt with us today to talk about her newest release, “The Undead Space Initiative.”  Welcome, Casey.

Thanks for having me as guest, Gerri! I’m thrilled to be back on your blog today.

NOP:  “The Undead Space Initiative” … what an intriguing and unusual name.  Where did you come up with that?

It came from that magical place in my brain that only seems to activate when I’m driving my car!

NOP:  What inspired you to write “The Undead Space Initiative”?

I admit, the idea was so wacky when it first came to me I almost ignored it. Instead, I decided why not? I wrote the book because I’d regret it if I didn’t!

NOP:  I love love love your heroine’s name, Cherry Cordial.  Where did you come up with that?

Her name popped into my head on the same car ride when I got the idea for the book. Actually, it happened like this, I was driving to my local Starbucks to meet with Susannah Hardy and PJ Sharon to talk about our WIPs (mine at the time was Mystic Ink), when the name Cherry Cordial popped into my head. And then out of the blue, it was followed by the words “vampire stripper on Mars.” No lie. I had to chant the name and those words until I stopped the car because I was afraid I’d forget the idea.

NOP:  Your story takes place on Mars.  What made you select that particular location?

That came with the whole package! Cherry decided it for me. And really, I’m a huge sci-fi reader. I’ve never read a book where the denizens of Mars are the undead. When you think about it, it’s logical. Vampires (zombies & revenants) aren’t alive, so they don’t need to eat, use the bathroom or breathe air. Perfect candidates for space exploration.

NOP:  Will there be a sequel for “The Undead”?

Possibly. I left room for one if I choose to write another. At the moment my brain is focused on completing MYSTIC STORM. I just finished another book called MISFORTUE COOKIE too.

NOP: You have had success with your first release, “Mystic Ink,” published by Soul Mate Publishing, which by the way, I loved.  Will there be a sequel?  If so, please tell us a bit about that and when it will be available.

Yes. The next book is MYSTIC STORM.  In a nutshell, the Fates have cursed Zephyr, God of the West Wind, for interfering in a Hero’s Journey. He tries to deal with the consequences while helping a Muse, Kalliope, find her missing brother. I’m still writing the book so no ETA on when it will be available. Soon, I hope.

Now for some fun questions:

If money were no object, what car would you drive?

If money were no object, I’d have a driver take me everywhere in a swank car!

Where would you live?

Near the ocean. However, and I know this sounds crazy, I’d want to see the ocean, but be high enough so no rogue waves or hurricanes could wash my house out to sea.

Would you rather have milk chocolate or dark chocolate?

Dark chocolate all the way, but I wouldn’t say no to milk chocolate if you offered it to me.

Dogs or cats?

Both. That’s like asking me which of my children I love more.

Coffee or tea?

I also like them both. I drink tea first thing in the morning and coffee after lunch as a treat.

Favorite flavor of ice cream?

Anything with the word chocolate or peanut butter in it.

Who is you favorite movie hero and heroine?

I love Belle from Beauty and the Beast. As to hero, my tastes change all the time. Currently, I love all of The Avengers, but, you know, my favorite is bad guy Loki.

If you could be any one of your characters, who would you be?

Hmmm… that’s a tough one. I’d probably be Galen Archer. He’s an elf warrior from my unsold book Ascension.  If I had to pick a female character, it would have to be Nix from MYSTIC INK.

Except from The Undead Space Initiative:

Reality settled in. We were leaving the Earth. I’d be strapped into a tube and hurtled into space. If we survived the journey, I’d be on my way to Mars.

My kneecaps dissolved to water. I clutched the railing, trying to calm my stomach and stay upright.

“You don’t have to go, Cherry,” Ian said from behind me.

I stiffened. His offer seemed more tempting by the minute, yet I couldn’t abandon my family. “I’m afraid to board the ship. But I can’t disobey my sire.”

“You could ask him to emancipate you. You’re plenty old enough.”

“Why are you still here?” Old enough? No woman likes to be told she’s old. Especially when it’s true.

“Concerned is all,” he shrugged and joined me by the railing. He stared out, side profile as handsome as the full frontal.

“Don’t be. I’m a big girl,” I chirped with way more bravado than I felt. Now I knew what Alice experienced when she fell into the rabbit hole. Afraid, confused. Freaked out. I reminded myself Jonathan was a great leader. Even though we had our personal baggage, he would do his best to ensure we survived. He hadn’t let us down yet.

Heavy machines moved into position. The workers unlatched more hoses, wires and mechanical items from the ship’s side. Blood pounded in my head, caused by my tight jaw and grinding teeth.

“I didn’t mean to offend. Or imply Jonathan can’t defend you.” Ian’s voice softened. The low tone made my toes curl. “I hoped we could prove our innocence together.”

Available now from:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Undead-Space-Initiative-ebook/dp/B008SFZRB6/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1344164814&sr=1-2

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1112373343?ean=2940014948333

Pink Petal Books – http://pinkpetalbooks.com/The-Undead-Space-Initiative-by-Casey-Wyatt.html

Bio:

Casey Wyatt has no personal knowledge of the paranormal, but she hopes someday that may change. If there are ancient Gods, elves or satyrs living nearby, they’re more than welcome to visit. Bring pizza and chocolate please!

Her paranormal romance and urban fantasy novels have won or placed in numerous RWA contests. When not writing, Casey enjoys time with her family, loves to read, and enjoys knitting and crocheting.

She lives in a bustling Connecticut town with her husband, two sons and an assortment of pets (none of which are shape-shifters).

Visit Casey on the web: http://www.caseywyatt.com  or at http://secretsof7scribes.wordpress.com/. You can also find Casey on Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/casey.wyatt.37 and Twitter (@CaseyWyatt1).

Responses

  1. Great interview. I just finished The Undead Space Initiative and I absolutely loved it. It was enthralling. I expected no less as Mystic Ink was equally as fascinating. I would love to see a sequel to The Undead Space Initiative.

    • Hi Janna! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the book! Hopefully, one of these days, I’ll get a chance to think about a sequel. I’m still working on the one to Mystic Ink. I’m sure if I could clone myself the book would be done by now :)

  2. I love the idea of the “undead” on Mars :O) I get my great ideas where I can’t write them down too. Have you thought about one of the clipboards that attach to your dash like the traveling salesmen use? Here I found a link

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=dashboard+memo+pad

    Anyway just wanted to tell you I love your work and keep it up :0) Carin

    • Thank you so much Carin! I appreciate the link and I’m glad you enjoy my stories! :)

  3. I learn new things about you every day, Casey. I didn’t know you had that idea on your way to meet me and Jane. How cool is that? Does that somehow connect me to your muse? if so, feel free to send her along any time…I could always use a second muse…for when mine is on hiatus:-) I can’t wait to sink my fangs into this book (pun intended). Vampire strippers on Mars! Ha! Who would have thought? Why, only you, of course. Congrats on the release!

    • It’s true! Do you remember that meeting? I remember you showing me your new Nook that day! As to my muse, The Doubt Monster ate her! Either that, or she hangs out only in my car! I hope you enjoy the story :)

  4. What a fun interview! I love Cherry’s name,too!

    • Thanks Shelley! I love her name too, but it always makes me think of candy which I don’t need to eat anymore of!

  5. Great interview!

    I’m reading The Undead Space Initiative, and I love it so far. It’s a really fun read! (Husband has laid claim to it next–he wanted it first, but I think he’d have to wrestle the iPad from my cold, dead hands. Besides, I have *ways* of getting my way.)

    • I’m sure you do Meggan! I wouldn’t stand between you and a book! And I’m glad you think it’s fun because it was fun book to write :)

  6. This is a really fun book. Read it the day of its release – as I’d been waiting almost a year! Good luck, Casey!

    • Thank you so much Julia! I’m flattered :)

  7. Hey, I heard there was a party going on over here! Sorry I’m so late, but Casey, you know my situation. Finally done! Now … I have to tell all the readers that I just started this book and I LOVE it. It’s fun and had me from the start. I love that sassy ass Cherry … her character is a hoot! Everyone should get this book!

    • LOL! I’m so happy you finished what you were working on! :) And thank you so much for having me as a guest at your blog today!

  8. I love it! Why can’t a vampire be in space or Mars. My brother wrote a short story about werewolfs on the Moon. Got my copy, it’s next on my TBR list.

    • Hi Mary! Thank you so much! And yes, I agree, supernaturals are good candidates for space travel. Werewolves on the Moon sounds fun too :)

  9. Great interview.

    • Why thank you Marianne! :)

  10. Sorry – meant Marian! Need more coffee!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,793 other followers

