Interview with Kemberlee Shortland

by C. Margery Kempe 

I’m pleased to welcome writer/publisher Kemberlee Shortland to Nights of Passion. In addition to being a busy writer, she’s also the head of Tirgearr Publishing. Kem’s going to be giving away a copy of A Piece of My Heart and the short story sequel, Constant Craving, so be sure to comment to enter the contest.

What inspired Rhythm of My Heart?

Rhythm of My Heart started out as an erotica, the story of which got in the way. The more I learned about Kieran and Eilis, the more I wanted to know. A story developed just begging to be told. Don’t get me wrong. This isn’t a sweet romance. Once Kieran and Eilis work out their difficulties, their coming together rivals any erotica out there!

What started you writing romance?

I read early as a child and was reading romance in junior high school. Not Harlequins either but the big, thick, 100K+ word tomes. I used to think they were adventure stories and soaked them up like a dry sponge. I blew past the sex since I didn’t understand it, and paged through to the next action scene. Wasn’t long though before those intimate scenes started making sense! I’ve always enjoyed writing since I was young and started writing  my own stories as early as 5th grade. My first novel was a high school romance, most of which took place in the backs of cars {ahem!}. Wasn’t until my early 20s that I thought I’d give romance a serious try. That book became Sarah’s Secret. To this day, I believe it’s an awesome story. One day I’ll rewrite it and see if anyone is interested in reading it.

How did you develop your craft?

My craft is always developing. I believe the foundation, though, is based in reading. A lot. Also, listening to advice. And never giving up, even when the rejections poured in. Two steps forward and one step back is still one step forward!

What makes a great heroine?

A woman who is strong and independent, yet appreciates the love of a good man and accepts his support when she needs it. A woman who knows what she wants and goes after it.

What’s sexy?

A man who is trustworthy, dependable, honest, passionate, sensitive to others needs before his own, capable in many situations, protective of those he loves and those in need . . . and a deep voice, knows how to kiss my socks off and isn’t afraid to ask for
directions in any situation! Oh, and Liam Neeson!

What makes you laugh?

Our dogs. Really bad jokes. Miriam Margolyes!

Do you ever incorporate real people/events into your stories?

I don’t write about people I know but I have written about events. A Piece of My Heart is a good example. One of the strong secondary characters is a Border Collie called Molly which I based on our own Border Collie, Daisie. Daisie’s original name was Molly and we came by her in a similar situation as what happened in the book. I can’t say without giving away part of the story, but it wasn’t pretty. But she’s a gorgeous dog now and we’re so happy to have her. And Poppy, who also had a similar beginning in life. Both dogs are rescues.

How do you balance writing with the rest of your life?

I’m lucky enough to be able to ‘work from home’ so I write during the day when himself is at work. If I’m under a deadline, I’ll work late into the night, or early hours of the morning depending on one’s perspective. I haven’t had much time for fresh writing since
we launched Tirgearr Publishing, but I’ve been editing, both our authors and my own work. We have a wonderful editor called Christine whose most recent job has been to help me get the rest of my Irish Pride Series polished and ready for publication. If not
for her, Rhythm of My Heart would be languishing at the bottom of a slush pile. And I’m always in research mode. Even when driving in the car. It may seem like I’m day dreaming out the window or sleeping, but really, I’m formulating stories in my mind.
Ignore the snoring please!

What’s the most common mistake people make about you?

That people think I’m a grown up. Ask anyone who really knows me and they’ll tell you I’m the biggest kid they know.

What ambitions do you have ahead of you?

I’m very ambitious. Maybe the question should be what don’t I want to do? Five year plan? I’d like to see Tirgearr Publishing doing very well. Preferably well enough that himself doesn’t have to work outside the home. That means we can live anywhere, which
is ideal since we’re planning to move Stateside within the next 18 months. I have this wild imagining of buying a cushy RV and seeing America. With an internet business and being a writer, I can work from anywhere. Unfortunately, an RV makes me sound like I’m ready to migrate to Florida for the rest of my days. That ain’t happening! But we both would love to see America, and all our friends along the way. Might as well do it while we’re young, right?

What’s the best advice you ever received?

You can do anything you set your mind to.

If money were no object, what would be your ideal vacation?

Retirement!

What’s next for you?

Next up is Shape of My Heart. I don’t have a release date yet, but it will be available in early November. This is the story of Kieran’s sister, Gráinne, who meets her match with John ‘JD’ Desmond. She’s decided to get her life back together, to grow up as it were,
but ends up on the sticky end of things. There’s an excerpt of this story on my website — http://www.kemberlee.com/mybooks/somh.htm.

Excerpt: This scene is from Rhythm of My Heart when Kieran and Eilis first meet. Eilis is an artist representative and Kieran is a blues guitarist. Eilis had heard Kieran play in The Little Man Pub the previous night and sent him a note, asking him to meet her at the bar.

She knows the moment she hears him play that he’s the Garth Brooks of the blues, and with her management, he’ll be just as big as Garth. But Kieran failed to meet her, so she goes to the pub the next day and enquires with the publican where she can find the
musician, Kieran Vaughan. It doesn’t go as smoothly as she’d hoped. After dealing with the nasty little publican, Eilis is about ready to leave when Kieran finally shows up. 

Her gaze never wavered as she stared the little man in the eye.

“Sir,” she smiled sweetly, honey dripping from her words. She leaned over the bar just enough to give him a glimpse of the swell of her breast through the opening of her blouse. “I doubt you have anything I would be interested in. Besides, you don’t really want me to find out why this place is called The Little Man, do you?”

This earned the publican long oohs and sniggers from the patrons, who were now on the edges of their seats waiting to hear the disagreeable little man’s response.

Obviously taken aback by such a brazen retort, the man stood gaping red-faced at her for a moment before he got his wits about him. He winked at the men around the bar. “Oy does like me birds feisty!” That only encouraged more laughter.

Eilis could have enjoyed the banter if only the man wasn’t so repulsive. All she wanted to do was meet Kieran Vaughan and get out of Finglas as quickly as possible.

When the laughing stopped, Eilis’s gaze never wavered as she said, “Well?”

“Well what, loov?” he asked, wiping the tears from his eyes with a dirty bar towel.

“Are you going to tell me where to find Kieran Vaughan?” He was trying her patience, but she did her best to keep the frustration out of her voice.

Then she sensed someone step up behind her and straightened instantly. Somehow she knew it was Kieran.

The feral scent of him permeated her senses instantly and quickened her pulse. Butterflies replaced the strange ache in her stomach that had been there just moments before.

She turned slowly and looked up at the most handsome man she’d ever seen in her life. She found herself instantly speechless.

She’d seen him on stage the night before and knew he was handsome. But this close up . . . Never before had she seen such blue eyes. And as she gazed into them, they changed from the light steel blue to the color of storm clouds heavily ringed with gunmetal. That he had dark brows and thick lashes only made his gaze seem more intense.

“Ye’ve found him, loov,” said the little man, taunting her. “Now what are ye goin’ ta do with him?”

The hammering of her heart and the pulsing blood in her temples blocked out the noise in the room as she looked into Kieran Vaughan’s eyes. To her dismay, her knees actually quivered.

Something in the pit of her belly ached. No, something else. It was like warm melting honey running through her marrow. In that moment she longed to touch him, to brush the unruly wave of his dark hair away from his face, to feel his lips against the pads of her fingers, to . . .

When he spoke she almost didn’t hear him.

“Like the man said, now that you’ve found me, what are you going to do with me?” His eyes sparkled with unabashed mischief.

“Anything you want me to,” she heard herself whisper….

Buy Rhythm of My Heart 

Website

Blog

Twitter 

Facebook

LinkedIn 

About C. Margery Kempe

A writer of erotic romance: see my website, www.cmkempe.com for a taste of my work including free stories, book trailers and more.
This entry was posted in C. Margery Kempe, contemporary romance, Interview, Kit Marlowe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Interview with Kemberlee Shortland

  1. Kemberlee says:

    Thanks for hosting me here today. I’m ready for a day of fun!

  2. Cathie Dunn says:

    Fab interview, girls! Loving the excerpt.

    Ahhh, Liam Neeson. Yes. Definitely… ;-)

    • cmkempe says:

      I didn’t realise there was such a hard core fan base for Liam. :-)

    • Kemberlee says:

      Oh, yes. Very HARD core for Liam. Not classically handsome (not like, say, Matthew McConaughey. But he is really charming, has a deep voice, is very tall, and he plays kick ass characters. Oh, and he’s really charming ;-)

  3. Kemberlee says:

    Liam . . . most definitely!! :-D {waving at Cathie}

  4. cmkempe says:

    I think Fillion would be much fun to hang out with; Clive Owen, I do like.

    • Kemberlee says:

      I don’t think Clive gets enough attention. He has gorgeous eyes and a sexy smile. And he’s very charming in general.

      Yes, Nathan would be great to hang out with. He’s supposed to be wonderfully funny.

  5. cmkempe says:

    You should follow him on Twitter.

  6. Great interview and a great book. Kem always writes with passion and conviction. She knows what she’s doing and it shows. Her characters and so real I feel like I truly know them and hate to leave them behind when I close the book.

  7. cmkempe says:

    Thanks, everyone, for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

