Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | July 24, 2012

Writers Block Sucks by Leia Shaw

I haven’t written anything more than a few blog posts – most of which were recycled – and some facebook statuses in over two months.

Why, you ask.

Because of writers block.

So writers block is a real thing, you wonder. And it plagues even you?

‘Tis true.

But you’ve written five books in two years! you exclaim.

Yes, thank you for pointing that out. *rolling eyes* You’re not very helpful, you know.

I’m just trying to make a point, you say. If you’re not careful, you could descend into madness and start having conversations with yourself in perfectly innocent blog posts.

*pause*

Nah, that’ll never happen.

So how does a writer beat writer’s block, you ask. It’s common enough, right? Everyone has their moments.

I’m sure there are marvelous techniques you can google to help inspire and motivate your little minds. Listening to music, making a storyboard, dancing naked around a stack of books, praying to the writing gods, banging your head against the table over and over until your forehead starts taking on a curved shape with little ridges on one side. Those are all excellent ideas!

But this post isn’t about you. It’s about me. And I tried every one of those and all it got me was a concussion and some strange looks from the neighbors. Sidenote: if you go the naked dancing route, it’s probably just as effective to do it indoors with the curtains shut.

You couldn’t pay me to write to something good right now. You could be like, Leia, I will give you a thousand dollars cash right, in singles, you could go all Magic Mike at the local strip joint, just imagine how long you can ogle the goods with one thousand dollar bills, if you write a compelling post about…we’ll keep it easy…puppies. And I wouldn’t be able to get past the first sentence, “puppies are compelling.”

To be even more dramatic, you could put a gun to my head and order me to write something , anything, and I’d end up rambling about how I can’t write anything even with a gun to my head.

You’re so dramatic, Leia, you say. You can’t possibly know what you’d do in those circumstances.

I can. I bribed the creepy guy down the street to point a gun at my head while I write this post. His name is Jim. Say hi, Jim. How did you think I could write this in the first place?

So is all hope lost, you ask with tears in your eyes. You’ll never write again?

Probably. And thank you for your tears. I shall bottle them and keep them as a momento from my writing days.

*Holds paper to my wrist* Goodbye, cruel world!

 

 

Responses

  1. Sorry to read about your (well-written) struggles. I personally don’t believe in writer’s block only because I can always find something to write about! If it’s a certain project stopping you up, maybe it’s just not time to work on that project? Maybe you’re just ignoring the thing (or things) you really need to write at this point before you can go forward. :-)

    • at this point, i’ve tried 3 different projects. and considered even more. that’s everything in my arsenal. but no worries. i have a friend who’s being rather pushy *cough* tyrannical *cough* about making me write. it’s getting a little better. thanks for chiming in!

  2. That was an excellent post today. I really enjoyed reading it very much Thanks so much for sharing it. Have a great day.

    Enjoy Writing? Join Us Today:

    Writers Wanted

    • wow. thank you for that well-thought out and so very specific response to my post. keep coming by and maybe someone will join your site based on your ingenius comments.

    • They sign up everyday!

  3. I have been in your shoes on this one, my friend. That is when I do something else, like go for walks, clean my closet or garage. I find that once in a while, I need to let my brain have a vacation from coming up with plots and dialogue. And after a few days (sometimes weeks) an idea for something new will pop into my head and my fingers will fly across the keyboard. In the meantime, when you are trying to write a blog, you have no idea what to write about and you sit staring at your computer until your eyes bleed, please know you are not alone – I’ve been there. Now, you mentioned writing about puppies. I bet you could come up with something if they were not normal puppies. What if they were undead puppies, zombie puppies or vampire puppies … puppies from the three headed dog that guards the gates of Hell? Hmmm … I read once that a writer we all know said what if I write about a mom and her son trapped in their car by a crazed dog … Take heart, Leia … writer’s Block, this too shall pass.

    • zombie puppies! lol. i love it :) thanks. it helps to know i’m not the only one going on this long.

  4. I too go to anohter project when something isn’t working for me. Thank goodness, I’ve never been blocked. Good luck, Leia.

    • yeah i can’t even think through any projects well. *sigh*

  5. Look, crazy woman, stop trying to write. Take a hiatus. Go somewhere not-home. Somewhere you love, or have never visited. Don’t think. Just live for awhile. All good things come to those who wait. Really. Your muse is obviously on vacation. Do the same.

    • lol. i’ve had a 2 month vacation already! but yeah, several people have told me that. then others have told me to do the opposite – force myself to write. i tried the vacation. now i’m trying the forced writing. i have a few vacations coming up. hopefully that’ will help.

  6. I feel bad for you Leia- I am not a writer and I can’t really understand (except when I think back to my College English Writing class). I know everyone says it will pass (and at least your blog was amusing) and I would have loved to see the naked dance around the books thingy, but you’ve got too much talent behind that damned Mind Wall to keep it back forever.. so put away the suicide note and the paper to cut your wrist and BUCK UP (lol).. I look forward to hearing and seeing that wall come crashing down!

    • too late. i already have a paper cut. it hurts! ;)

  7. would you like a hug and some chocolate?

    • yes! i would! and some tissues. and maybe enough alcohol to pass out for the night.

  8. Writer’s Block sucks huge time.
    I get writer’s block on occasion. And it isn’t that I don’t know what to write, it’s more like I can’t get into that zone of wanting to write. Writing is hard, it takes a lot of mental energy to get the words just right.
    Maybe what you need is an actual vacation from writing. Give yourself permission to take a month off.

    • thats exactly it brenda. i’m not in the zone. someone stole my writing mojo.

  9. Leia! Put the paper down! Have you tried telling yourself you are not allowed to write (like you can’t eat that piece of chocolate cake!). That works for me sometimes. And I do what Marian suggests, I go find another project to work on and ignore the other one for a while. Give it the cold shoulder.

    • well it’d have to be a project that isn’t writing cause i’ve tried to write 3 different books now. so can i please eat that piece of chocolate cake?

    • Yes, honey you deserve it. I know how you feel. I’m trying to complete two novels that are driving me nuts. One of them I started in 2010 and the other in February. I just want them done!

  10. Wait a minute, just one minute. Isn’t writing a story like writing anything? You wrote this blog, and it’s great, it’s fun, it’s informative. So, why can’t you write anything you want? Painting is like that, everywhere I turn is something to paint, some people look and look and look for something to paint. There is always something to paint. Writing is like that, there is always something to write. Right?

    • yes, i suppose i could just write lots of blog posts and see where that leads me. never know.

  11. I’m seriously not too worried. Such a drama queen, Leia. Paper cuts! Never fear, you’ll get there. I’ll sharpen some sticks, I find they work better than guns to ears. And I need you to help me write!

    If I have to I’ll tie you to a chair and glue the keyboard to your fingers then turn ravenous gerbils loose in your hair. I’ll train them so they only nibble if they don’t hear typing.

  12. Writer’s block is your brain’s way of telling you that it wishes to process different pieces or information for a while. Our brains are a bit like muscles. They have a ‘use it or lose it’ basic biology and biochemistry. They creative part of our brain can get ‘tired’ just like any other part. When that happens, it can’t be ‘forced’. It needs to be rested and other areas of our brains used instead. Once suitably ‘rested’, the writing flows once again. Good luck Leia on your rest. Your writing and muse will return when it’s good and ready.

  13. I don’t think your totally blocked. You wrote this post and it was good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,792 other followers

