Classic Books & Movies by Gerri Brousseau

It was Wednesday night, it was late and I was flipping through the channels when I saw “Gone With The Wind” was on.  I had to watch it.  No matter how many times I have see that movie, I find myself draw to see it yet again.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who would like to slap some sense into Scarlett … with a man like Rhet she’s pining over that pasty wimp, Ashley Wilkes.  And I know Rhet isn’t going to change his mind and sweep Scarlett up off her feet at the end, rush up those steps and ravish her.  He’s always going to say, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.”  But still, I just have to watch it.  It doesn’t have a happily ever after ending and it never will, but still … there is something about this great epic that continues to draw audiences over the decades.

I started to think about this and realized there are quite a few movies I find I can watch over and over again.  Some of them are, “Casablanca,” “The Wizard of Oz,” “The Sound of Music,” all the Harry Potter movies, “The Notebook” and honestly, there are too many to mention.  Last Sunday (7/1) Katy Lee (Writing Secrets of Seven Scribes) blogged about having her children read the classics … I couldn’t help but wonder about them too.  Why is it we never get tired of Mister Darcy (~sigh~) or Rhet Butler (double sigh)?  Is it that the story was so well written or was it that Hollywood portrayed it so well?  We all want Elsa to stay behind in Casablanca … we’re all happy when Dorothy gets back to Kansas, and we are overjoyed when the Von Trapp family escapes Hitler’s forces … so maybe it’s a combination of the two; a wonderfully written book  adapted to a fabulous screenplay that can withstand the test of time.

What movies can you watch over and over and what do you think makes a book/movie adaptation become a classic?

About Susan Hanniford Crowley

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance Author
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Classic Books & Movies by Gerri Brousseau

  1. Gail Ingis says:

    That’s all true about the classics. I think about them all the time. My guess would be the tension and push and pull almost constant would be what drives us back. What else could it be? Thanks for a great post.

  2. Thanks for commenting, Gail. I appreciate it.

  3. I love the classics, the anticipations was wonderful and the climax even better.

Leave a Reply

