Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | October 15, 2011

Oktoberfest by Gerri Brousseau

One of the wonderful things about living in the United States is that we get to enjoy all the different cultures, foods and festive celebrations of the many nationalities of the peoples who have migrated here and now call the United States their home.  This time of year, we tend to turn our attention and taste buds to the German people as we embrace a delightful tradition they call Oktoberfest.

According to Wikipedia, Oktoberfest is a 16-18 day beer festival (you’ve got to love it already) annually in Munich, Bavaria, Germany.  Contrary to popular belief, however, this fest runs from late September to the first weekend in October.  It is one of the most famous events in Germany and is the world’s largest fair with over five million people attending each year.  One fact I discovered was that only the beers brewed within the city limits of Munich is served at the fest.

This festival originated when Crown Prince Ludwig married on October 12, 1810.  The citizens of Munich were invited to the festival held in front of the city gates to celebrate.

With the delicious German fare such as knockwurst, bratwurst and sauerbraten plus the rich and hearty flavor of German beer, who would not enjoy a visit to an Oktoberfest celebration?  Have you ever attended such a cultural event?  What harvest time celebrations are part of your heritage?

Responses

  1. Gerri, I am always up for a party, festy or not, or is that feisty or not? I love the whole German atmosphere in Epcot. That’s the only place I have ever tried out Oktoberfest with its food, etc.etc.etc. I always enjoy the other cultures.

    • Hi Gail,
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I experienced Oktoberfest at Williamsburg. It was wonderful. Dancing, food and beer …. oh the beer.

  2. Back when I was in college and went home for a weekend with my dorm roommate, we went to the Oktoberfest in Louisville, KY’s, Butchertown. All I remember about it was bringing home a souvenir mug that went missing a couple of homes ago. So I must have had a great time.

    • Hi Rhonda,
      Thanks for stopping by NOP and for commenting. Butchertown … must have been a German town. I don’t think I have spoken to anyone who did not have a good time at an Oktoberfest celebration. Just thinking about the food is making me hungry.

  3. The town where my dad lived had what they called Oktoberfest, but it was always in September and was pretty much a generic town fair, no German focus at all; that was disappointing, as we used to live next to a wonderful German family some years back.

  4. Hi Anna,
    Thank you so much for visiting us at Nights of Passion and for leaving a comment. At Six Flags in Williamsburg, VA they have a section called “Germantown” where they celebrate Oktoberfest every day. It was great! I’m sure they must celebrate it in a much more festive way at the proper time. Yes, Oktoberfest is celebrated at the end of September, ending the celebration the first weekend in October. I always thought it was October, but I learned something when I researched the topic. Thanks again for stopping by at NOP and I hope to see you here again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,793 other followers

