Posted by: Susan Hanniford Crowley | October 6, 2009

Interview and Contest with Erotic Romance author J. Hali Steele.

Nights of Passion’s is excited to have Erotic Romance author J. Hali Steele back.

Welcome J. Hali! Thank you for letting me, Mason, interview you.

Congratulations!  You’ve had quite the year. Tell our readers about some of the developments going since you last chatted with us.

Hi, Mason. Thanks for having me back. Wow! I have had a good year. Part luck and lots of hard work. Since I was here last I’m proud to say I attained PAN status which was a goal I’d set for myself. I’ve had another release, Hot Tin Roof, from Changeling. Those bloody cats have been well received by readers and reviewers alike. Another few submissions accepted starting with Rhythm of Love which I sold to Ellora’s Cave for their Dance of Desire Theme in February 2010. I also contracted my Angels in Love series to EC. The first book in the series, Hope in Love, will be out on October 9th. Eirelander Publishing picked up Clawless and they’ll be releasing A Panther’s Flight on October 16th. That’s about it.

What was the first story you ever wrote and tells us about the premise?

That would probably be the full length novel I’m still working on, and yes, it’s about blood and cats. Or it could be the short story, Fallen Kitty, about cat gargoyles. Dang, you think I like cats? *laughing* I worked on them simultaneously. The gargoyles were supposed to be longer, but it never happened. Probably because it was in first person—I don’t like first person. I’d safely say that was my first stab at it, and my last.

Did you always write steamy romances?

Oh yes. In fact my first two novellas I toned down because I thought they were too hot. One I ended up rewriting all the way into erotica. The other I added a few hot scenes back, but it still ended up only being sensual. Everything since has been totally erotic. Not to say I’d not write anything else, but I enjoy the spicier novels myself and it’s natural I gravitated to writing those kinds of stories.

What is your all time favorite hot love story and why (Movie or book)?

That would have to be the movie The Passion of Ayn Rand with Helen Mirren and Eric Stoltz. Mirren won the Golden Globe for the part of Ayn Rand. Stoltz played her married lover who was 25 years her junior. WHEW! There were some darn hot love scenes. And anybody who knows me knows I idolize Ayn Rand. Atlas Shrugged was a pretty hot read too.

What is the strangest event that has influenced your work?

A cat bite believe it or not! My little calico, who is basically feral, bit the snot out of me when I picked her up wrong one day. I spent the night in the hospital with an IV of antibiotic. LOL. When I returned to work, a girlfriend sent me a video of an ancient saber tooth tiger as a joke. When I looked at the teeth, a bell went ding in my head. I’d already been working on the first in the Kind cat’s story and that video morphed it into a story about vampyre infected cats.

What’s the one thing you’ve wanted to share about yourself, but the topic never comes up?

Mason, that’s a loaded question for sure. *laughing* Hmm, let me think. Nothing comes to mind. I’m an open book and I’ve pretty much shared everything. At least everything that I want to.

I’d like to do a speed round of one to two word answers. Ready, go!

What is your favorite:

Sweet?  Payday.

Character?  Phoenix.

Song?  MASONNNN! This is impossible to do – ok anything by Loreena McKennitt or Darlene Koldenhoven – I couldn’t pick just one *grins* Wait—Mckennitt and Koldenhoven, that works as two words, right?

Color?  Purple.

Angel?  Ramiel.

Feline?  Phoenix or Greystoke – this is too hard!

Thank you that was fun and you did a wonderful job.

If you could meet one of your own characters, which one would you pick and why?

Phoenix because he’s, well…he’s everything—hot and cold, hard yet tender, mean but nice. Mostly he’s just badass—a real SOB.

Where do you get your inspiration?

My sister, Boz who has really been a rock. Without her, none of this would be happening. And my cats. Lots of inspiration from those sweet little devils.

Please, tell us about Hope in Love from Ellora’s Cave  and A Panther’s Flight from Eirelander Publishing?

Hope in Love from Ellora’s Cave  

Blurb:

hopeinlove_msr2The world is changing. Hope is fading. Darkness beckons. And one angel holds the answer.

Tired of death, destruction and mankind’s race to ruination, Ramiel, archangel of hope, finds it harder and harder to care about those he’s meant to help. Now, the Fates have decreed that Ramiel must mate with Yael, an exulted human. On his shoulders rides the universe’s only hope for survival, but the ties that bind him to Yael force him to face his own unexpected reckoning.

Yael, elevated to heaven to live out her days in peace, recoils from the sadness and shadows of death in Ramiel’s eyes. Yet the need to ease the despair haunting him is stronger. During nights of searing sensuality, Yael and Ramiel light an erotic fire between them that will not be extinguished.

As the combined forces of the heavens try to tear them apart, Ramiel must find a way to hold on to the love he finds with Yael, or an end will come, so devastating that Heaven will drop to its knees.

Excerpt:

Ram arrived below and saw a man who stood on the wall of a rooftop with the business end of a revolver in his mouth.

He began his mantra without much feeling.

“You are a child of the Lord and your life is important to our Father.”

Beings he assisted heard his voice deep in their subconscious mind. He infused his words with hope and fulfillment in life. It lifted their hearts.

Those who’d reached this point sometimes saw him and thought he was a figment of their warped imagination. They were hard to deal with. Most never saw him.

The man’s head turned toward his voice.

“Go away, whoever you are, I want to die.”

Okay, guess he sees me.

Ram had had enough crap today.

“Then finish it already. I could be buried deep in my woman. Instead your creepy ass pulled me here. Look, you got no hope and I have none for your sorry ass. I’m fresh out of hope. So do us both a favor so I can get back to my bed.”

The man strained his eyes and tried to clear his vision.

“Jump already, or pull the trigger,” Ram yelled.

Ram never saw it coming. The bolt of lightning slammed into his body, dead center of his chest. It sizzled loudly as it flowed through him. He flew off the wall, careened through the air and hit the sidewalk ten stories below with a thud, breath knocked out of him. He watched feathers float around above him, some carried away on the breeze.

Bones were broken and fractured throughout his body. So many he didn’t want to count. Some protruded hideously through ripped and torn flesh. The walkway flooded with his blood. He hurt like hell.

“Screw me,” he croaked, blood dribbling across his cheek.

He looked up and saw the guy with the gun now stood behind the wall and looked over at him. His mouth hung open in shock.

“Guess there’s nothing like show and tell, huh, buddy?” Ram whispered in agony.

As soon as you can get up, I want to see you. Michael used his angel-of-death voice.

Really pissed you off this time.

Don’t push it, Ramiel.

You could help me up.

You must be kidding, right?

Okay then. I’ll be a while getting myself…back together.

I got all the time in the world.

Ram grumbled out loud, “God damn it to he—”

Go ahead. Say it. You know how I feel about taking our Father’s name in vain mixed with hell. You are working my last nerve. Get your ass up, NOW!

The now came accompanied by lightning and brought a boom of thunder riding across the sky.

Ram knew he was bested.

When Michael cursed, things were really bad.

 

What’s favorite scene?

That would be the scene where Ramiel discovers that Uri has locked Yael up in Hell. Things get pretty bad on earth for a bit. A few natural disasters, and Lucifer gets involved too. Yummy action in this scene.

Panther’s Flight from Eirelander Publishing?

Blurb:

pantherflighteditJWhen a mate is worth waiting for.  

Fane Baron is a Reign warrior—a sanctioned killer charged with hunting down the rogue vampyre cats of the Sovereign Kind. Haunted by memories of stalking his best friend and afraid the same contagious addiction will consume him, Fane makes a drastic decision; he’ll stop taking blood. He knows the consequences of his decision, the problem is, can he live with himself once he meets her…?

Edy Adair is in a predicament of her uncle’s making. A few days from her first change to a panther, already dealing with the clawing emotional turmoil of being in heat, she’s headed on a short flight to Arizona with the vampyre cat of her dreams. Only problem, he isn’t the mate chosen for her by her parents. The fact is he killed her cousin!

Excerpt:

“Damn, why didn’t Patrik tell me this? A female. Hell, this is going to be a long trip.” Fane’s panther felt his distress and scratched at his insides for release.

“Everyone understood about Sans,” Nikol replied. “He was a transgressor. You did what needed to be done. No one blames you. You need to stop blaming yourself. She’s very young and probably won’t know you. You were bound to run into the family sooner or later. Anyway, an hour in, let her do her thing, and an hour back. I’ll probably see you on the compound tonight.”

The likelihood of his name cropping up around the family dinner table was zero. The subject of transgressors had always been taboo. Even though it could happen to any one of them, the Kind avoided the topic like the plague. It was a weakness none of them wanted to acknowledge.

The time to let it go had long passed. But his fear of transgressing didn’t relinquish its hold on him. He had stopped taking the blood as often as he should to maintain his powers and soon it would be evident.

“Yeah, you’re right.” Fane watched anxiously as Edy approached the plane. She was a knockout and he felt his panther change direction. It no longer prowled. It started to purr and the beast waited as she walked towards him.

When she got closer, he saw that kohl lined her sparkling green eyes and gave her an exotic look. Black as ink hair was worn tousled and short. It surrounded a face of stunning beauty. Her cheeks glowed with that just-made-love flush. Small, rounded breasts looked so right on her tall, slender body. Hips that curved sweetly above the longest legs he’d ever seen. They went on and on.

She exuded sex appeal like an expensive perfume.

What’s favorite scene?

Oooh, that would be the scene where they’re stranded and Fane turns into a panther and skulks all around her sniffing and nudging her with his nose. Edy can’t shift yet but she buries her hands in his rough and tenderly lays her head against him. It’s just so sensual, kind of sweet.

I know you have other books out where can our readers find them.

With Extra Cream, Screwed and Hot Tin Roof are all with Changeling Press @ http://www.changelingpress.com/author.php?uid=127

Hard Case can be found at Ellora’s Cave: http://www.jasminejade.com/pc-7335-101-hard-case.aspx

Where can our readers go to find out more about you?

My website @ www.jhalisteele.com, www.facebook.com/purpleprose  I blog every Friday at www.paranormalromantics.blogspot.com and the 6th of each month at www.trampyvamps.com

Some of our readers are aspiring writers do you have words of wisdom you would like to share with them?

Never ever give up your dream of writing. Find a good critique group or partner to work with and reach for the stars. Write something everyday.

J. Hali, I’ve had a wonderful time interviewing you. I wish you the best.

Mason, I enjoyed myself very much. Thanks for having me. Remember everybody, life is short so: Growl and roar-it’s okay to let the beast out.

Hope in Love from Ellora’s Cave is available on the 9th of October.

A Panther’s Flight from Eirelander Publisher is available on 16th of October.

A CONTEST will be held when I return from RomantiCon. It will begin October 13th and run thru the 16th to celebrate both releases. More information will be available through my facebook group and my blog at www.sovereignkind.blogspot.com. There will be t-shirts, key chains and excerpt cards of both books. Participants need to join my Yahoo group at: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jhalisteele

Responses

  1. As always, nice interview Joann! Congrats on your success!

  2. Thanks, Sandi. This was a fun one to do. Mason sure got a lot of info out of me!

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. J,

    Great interview as always. I, too, wish you success in your upcoming releases. Best of luck!

    Liena~

  4. Liena, thanks for coming by and for the good wishes.

  5. Great interview you guys. So thrilled for you.

  6. Thanks, Rebecca, it has been a fun ride. I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.

    Glad you stopped by.

  7. Wonderful interview!

    Best wishes for continued success! I’m really happy for you and will be purchasing these books! What an addiction I have!

  8. Thanks for stopping by, Charisma. I think we all have that problem! I hope you enjoy them.

  9. Wonderful interview! I’m always glad to meet a fellow Ayn Rand devotee ;). Your work sounds fascinating. And that cover for Hope in Love? HOT! EC has the best covers.

  10. Hi Helen, doesn’t EC have scrumptious covers! I’m still in love with John Galt and Howard Roark-you’ll love this movie if you haven’t seen it.

    Thanks for coming by.

  11. Those excerpts sound great, J.

    Interesting interview. I like cats, too.

  12. Thanks, Sandy. I don’t think it’d be going too far out on the limb for me to say I LOVE cats. They’re just purrfect. *grins*

    I’m glad you made it by.

  13. Mason, Nights of Passion, thanks for having me in again. It’s always a pleasure to visit you guys. Your questions always get the best out of me…*smile* and I enjoy sharing with the readers.

    Thanks so much.

  14. Loved the interview, J. Always find out more about you in those answers!
    Congrats on the releases, wishing you lots of success!
    Hugs

  15. Hey Z, you made it! ((( ))). Mason got me good.
    Thanks for the good wishes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,796 other followers

